Connor
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Hi,

So I'm new to war games but have done experience with board games. I really like the look of this game and theme but the rules look complex, although I'm happy to sit down and get my head around the game I don't know if I'll be able to coerce anyone else I know into it. So I'm wondering if Twilight Struggle or Andean Abyss would be a better off starting point or if this is pretty much the same in terms of complexity?

Cheers in advance

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
For a new player, my advice would be Twilight Struggle since it has the most streamlined rules and is probably easiest to digest.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken Dilloo
United States
Bothell
Washington
flag msg tools
Everything is relative to perception, and your perception is limited.
badge
The Ginger Ninja
mbmbmbmbmb
Cuba Libre

I agree with Jack, would probably recommend TS first. Labyrinth, Andean Abyss and Cuba Libre have the benefit of being solo-able, but none of those are in the easy to digest category.

Haven't played Andean Abyss, but from what I gather, Cuba Libre might be slightly more noob friendly.

ALL of these are great games.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Paul
Iceland
Reykjavik
None
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
+1 for TS
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Connor
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
Cheers, do of these games have similar systems just different levels of complexity? Also thanks for mentioning Cuba Libre, after looking up I now have yet another game to add to my overwhelming Amazon wishlist.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Twilight Struggle is definitely the least complex of these three, rules-wise.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
PJ Killian
United States
Watertown
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb