Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Hammer job-- boat barely makes it back rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ron A
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dec 1939 Type IX-A
2d war patrol--British Isles
16xG7a, 6xG7e (4 for'ard, 2 rear reloads)

Transit box 1 -- no sightings
Transit Box 2 -- no sightings
Mission box -- no sightings
British Isles 1 -- no sightings
British Isles 2 -- no sightings
British Isles 3 -- Ship sighted
Sea Glory 2.000t Day attack: close range on surface. 2x 10.5cm ammo points expended, damaged; followed by 2xG7a torpedos fired, one dud, one hit, sunk
British Isles 4 -- convoy
1st round of combat: Night surface attack at long range. 4xG7a fired at 2 large freighters, 3 misses + dud; escorts failed to detect.
Reacquire successful.
2d round of combat: Night surface attack at long range.
10.100t freighter Beacon Grange. 1x G7A fired from fore tube-- dud
11.000t tanker Arne Kjode 3xG7a fired, 2 misses, hit, 2 damage
2nd salvo from rear tubes at Beacon Grange 2xG7a miss, hit 4 damage, sunk!
Escort does not detect.
Elect to pursue damaged tanker, escort stays w/tanker.
3d round combat
4xG7a fired at damaged Arne Kjode, 2 misses, 2 hits, 3 damage, sunk!
Escort fails to detect.
British Isles 5 -- convoy
1st round combat: night surface attack long range. 2xG7e fired at large freighter, miss + dud hit. 2xG7e fired at 2nd large freighter, miss + dud
2nd salvo 2xG7e at freighter, both miss.

Escort detects.
1st round depth bombing: 4 hits-- hull, flood, hull, hull. Escort detects again.
2nd round depth bombing: 4 hits: Electric engine 2, 3.7cm flak, hull, flood (engineer unable to stop +1). Escort detects again.
3rd round depth bombing: 5 hits-- 3.7cm flak, deck gun, hull, periscope, dive planes. Escort detects again.
4th round depth bombing: 3 hits; Flooding, Diesel 1, fuel tanks. Escort detects.
5th round depth bombing: 2 hits; flooding + hull.

Escort finally loses contact. U Boat surfaces and pumps out flooding (5 flooding boxes), repairs to all systems successful except for flak and deck guns.

Transit box 3 -- no sightings
Transit box 4 -- no sightings

Patrol totals:
all torpedoes expended
3 ships, 23.100 tonnes

3 month refit to repair 6 hull damage
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent report !! I, too, am commanding a IXA.

I think you might have four months refit

one unavoidable
plus one for being a IX model and staying out on patrol longer
plus two for six hull damage (!)

But I may be misunderstanding the rules.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Chick,
Type IXs go out for 2 months. Per the rules, the first month below the patrol assignment gets a "P"

Therefore, actually he does have 3 months refit (R) and one month (P). The extra month out on patrol actually isn't a refit month, although in game terms it has the same effect.

So....his sheet should look like this:

Dec40 British Isles
Jan41 (Patrol)
Feb41 (Refit)
Mar41 (Refit)
Apr41 (Refit)
May41 New assignment

Hope that makes sense,

Greg

PS he technically could have another month of refit, if he had more than 2 of his subsystems still broken when he arrived home. You can repair two concurrent with other repairs "for free" but more than 2 broken systems adds another month to refit. So, unless he was VERY lucky repairing everything.....it's likely he DOES have another month of refit that he didn't realize.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Greg and Ron.

My idea was ok, but my terminology was bad. Remaining out on patrol is NOT refit.

Really wonderful to get such quick response directly from the game designer.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron A
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sturmer wrote:
Hey Chick,
Type IXs go out for 2 months. Per the rules, the first month below the patrol assignment gets a "P"

Therefore, actually he does have 3 months refit (R) and one month (P). The extra month out on patrol actually isn't a refit month, although in game terms it has the same effect.

So....his sheet should look like this:

Dec40 39 British Isles
...
May41 40 New assignment

Hope that makes sense,

Greg

PS he technically could have another month of refit, if he had more than 2 of his subsystems still broken when he arrived home. You can repair two concurrent with other repairs "for free" but more than 2 broken systems adds another month to refit. So, unless he was VERY lucky repairing everything.....it's likely he DOES have another month of refit that he didn't realize.


I looked through the rules, there is no limit to the numbers of systems you can try to fix at sea in one go, correct? The engineer rolled for 6 broken systems and was good on 4 of them, the deck and flak guns stayed broken.

..and yes, I know about the Patrol followed by a P in the log. Type IXs go out less, but they carry so many more torps and go to exciting places like North America & West Africa. Hopefully I don't get found by aircraft too many times.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kranz
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SBGrad wrote:
I looked through the rules, there is no limit to the numbers of systems you can try to fix at sea in one go, correct? The engineer rolled for 6 broken systems and was good on 4 of them, the deck and flak guns stayed broken.

Yes, you are correct, Rob. You roll for all damaged systems while out at sea, except you can't do anything about Hull damage until refit and Flooding does go away automatically during repairs.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Rathburn
United States
Roseville
CA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I think I'll start my first patrol in the VIIB.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.