Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Dark Darker Darkest» Forums » Rules

Subject: Two questions about enemy special abilities rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Undead Bird: "One survivor in the creature's room (player's choice) is entrapped, if possible. This entrapped survivor can be freed only by destroying the creature."

(1) Has the bold part of this rule taken literal in the sense, that this entrapping is special in that it can be ONLY lifted by the elimination of the Undead Bird, even if it is knockbacked to another room? So this entrapment CANNOT be lifted by a liberation roll or the removal of all enemies from the room? Or is it just bad wording, that means nothing else than "Treat all reinforment rolls as entrappment rolls"?

(2) Lisa Mortimer: If Lisa distributes burn markers, am I assume right, that this does NOT trigger a fire check, so these burn markers do NO IMMEDIATE damage to friend and enemies? Even if one of Lisas burn markers destroy a room, the living und undead figures in that room are unharmed?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luke Heineman
United States
LaCrosse
WI
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
Undead Bird: "One survivor in the creature's room (player's choice) is entrapped, if possible. This entrapped survivor can be freed only by destroying the creature."

(1) Has the bold part of this rule taken literal in the sense, that this entrapping is special in that it can be ONLY lifted by the elimination of the Undead Bird, even if it is knockbacked to another room? So this entrapment CANNOT be lifted by a liberation roll or the removal of all enemies from the room? Or is it just bad wording, that means nothing else than "Treat all reinforment rolls as entrappment rolls"?

(2) Lisa Mortimer: If Lisa distributes burn markers, am I assume right, that this does NOT trigger a fire check, so these burn markers do NO IMMEDIATE damage to friend and enemies? Even if one of Lisas burn markers destroy a room, the living und undead figures in that room are unharmed?


1. Hmmm, this is a good question for David. Seems that a knockback should free the survivor, and that the bold text is meant to say that you can't free the survivor with entrapment rolls. I would play it that if the bird isn't in the space and there are no zombies in the space, your character is freed.

2. you're correct that they do not cause an active fire, and they do no damage immediately. when the fire advances, they still do damage to non fire-resistant creatures, zombies, and characters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathis Lurtz
Germany
Stuttgart
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
David answered this in a different Thread.
1. Yes, it is impossible to get out of the entrapment other than killing the bird, which makes it one of the most dangerous enemies in a game with few players.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Ausloos
Belgium
Ranst
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yoven wrote:
David answered this in a different Thread.
1. Yes, it is impossible to get out of the entrapment other than killing the bird, which makes it one of the most dangerous enemies in a game with few players.


Correct
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is there any thematic reason, that the undead bird can entrap a survivor, being knocked away out of the room, keeping the survivor still remotely entrapped?

What happens if "normally entrapped" survivors and "bird entrapped" survivors are together in the same room? Can the normally entrapped survivors make a liberation roll together for themselves, leaving the bird entrapped survivors behind? Or are liberation rolls forbidden for ALL entrapped survivors because of ONE special entrapped survivor?

How do you keep record, which survivor is normally entrapped, and which one is bird entrapped?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.