Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Hegemonic» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions after our first play through... .. . rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Waste MaLife
msg tools
So we played our first 5 player game. Went very well, only a few hickups with the rules, but nothing we couldn't just press on saying "we will play it this way for now"

The game was a huge hit. Everyone seamed to love it, especially those of us that felt Eclipse had a lot of problems (like missiles). In fact it was said a few times that "this is the game Eclipse wished it was". The no dice and the reveal action card step was a huge plus for my group that prefer "efficiency games" witch is the modern polite way of saying German games, witch is what I guess is what the yanks mean when they say Euros.

Took about 15-20 min to explain and two turns to get into full swing. The 2nd game was smooth though. We really liked the logical progression in this game, once you got your head into it it played very easy and left you open to some deep planning... though some of the number crunching lead to some appallingly bad moves!.. witch was awesome!


1) There are 3 action Phases in a single game round. Can you reuse the same action card during these rounds? Or is your hand of action cards only refreshed at the end of an entire turn?

We played that you can't. So you only picked up your played action cards after the end of the third action phase.

2) During the expansion phase you can advance a technology, either place one on a free slot that matches the type or discard from that slot and then place a tier 1, or a tier 2 when discarding a tier 1, or a tire 3 when discarding a tier 2.

So can you advance more than one tech? Say place 2 Tier 1s down in 2 different slots (assuming you can afford the caps). This could also mean you could place a t1 and then immediately advance it to t2 or even 3, if you had all three cards and could afford it.

We played that you could not do this.

3) When scoring it says "calculate base value". Dose this mean that you do not count agents or fleets? It is just the power of all "buildings" on each sector?

We played that you do not count fleets or agents.

4) As the player powers advance in the collection phase, this means the level 1 power is active in turn 1. Some at the table thought that the collection phase was skipped and the 9 creds at the start was part of the setup?

We played that player powers advanced for the first time to level 1 in turn 1.

Side Note - We drafted for player powers, but not did a random tech draw.


Thanks for the game, and for all the help in my pre game thread!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Noah Fields
msg tools
1) Yes! As stated in the rules: "Once all players have resolved their cards, return the Action Cards to their owners’ hands
and proceed to the next Action Phase"(P 9)

2) No. One tech advanced/ expansion phase: "Discard one Technology Card or Advance one Technology Card" (P 8)

3) I'm not sure what this in reference to? Scoring? Here you only care about the power of the 'bases' (Outposts, Complexes, and Embassies). In Conflict, of course you use both, as dictated.

4)No - the first turn there is a collection phase. This is where the 9 caps come from. This also means, all player powers start with level 1 active.


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Jome
United States
Franklin
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
WasteMaLife wrote:
3) When scoring it says "calculate base value". Dose this mean that you do not count agents or fleets?


Do not count Agents or Fleets when scoring boards.

Quote:
As the player powers advance in the collection phase, this means the level 1 power is active in turn 1.


Yes, it is available. There is a collection phase on the first turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Thornsen
United States
Nottingham
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WasteMaLife wrote:

2) During the expansion phase you can advance a technology, either place one on a free slot that matches the type or discard from that slot and then place a tier 1, or a tier 2 when discarding a tier 1, or a tire 3 when discarding a tier 2.


Your wording here makes me think you have an additional rule wrong. You don't need to discard a Tier 1 tech to research a Tier 2 tech. In most cases, you will research a Tier 1, then a Tier 2, then a Tier 3 tech in the same category.

Only if all 3 tech slots are full would you ever discard a tech. The rules simply clarify that even if you discard a tech, you can still research the higher level tech. (e.g. if you are discarding a level 2 Industrial tech, you can still play a level 3 Industrial tech).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Waste MaLife
msg tools
I thought each slot could only hold a single type.. three slot, three types... can you have all three slots using a single type of upgrade?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garry Rice
United States
Perkasie
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WasteMaLife wrote:
I thought each slot could only hold a single type.. three slot, three types... can you have all three slots using a single type of upgrade?


You can use any combination of types in your three cards...it's not one for each type.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Waste MaLife
msg tools
right.. ok... and if you have a T1 in slat A.. can you put a T2 in slot B with out discarding the T1?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garry Rice
United States
Perkasie
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
WasteMaLife wrote:
right.. ok... and if you have a T1 in slat A.. can you put a T2 in slot B with out discarding the T1?


Yes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Kindree
Canada
Waterdown
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Think about the technology slots as being unrelated, with the exception of using it as a "step" for advancing the next level technology. Even then, you don't need to discard (but you CAN if you choose to).

Example 1 - Assuming you have 0 bases/complexes/embassies:
Slot 1 has Military-1, Slot 2 has Industrial-2, Slot 3 is empty.
Simply from the cards present, in slot 3 you would be able to build Military (Tier 1-2), or Industrial (Tier 1-3).

Example 2 - Assuming you have no technology cards in play, and have a total of 3 complexes (Tier 1), 4 Embassies (Tier 2), 4 Military (Tier 1), in any slot you would be able to build: Military (Tier 1), Political (Tier 1-2), or Industrial (Tier 1).

Nothing HAS to happen with the existing tech cards to build another (assuming there's room). If there isn't room, per the manual: "The player may discard the required Advanced Technology to free up space for the new Technology Card" - so if you had M-2, P-2, P-1, and wanted to build a M-3, you could build a M-3 (using M-2 as the basis for the card rights) and still discard the M-2 (resulting in M-3, P-2, P-1 in the 3 slots)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.