Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

1862: Railway Mania in the Eastern Counties» Forums » Rules

Subject: forced train purchase rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
marc magner
United States
webster
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
can a company using forced train purchase: purchase more than one train?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jim b
United States
Berkeley
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
If selling stock, the company can only sell the minimum # shares to buy one train (from the bank).

If refinancing, the company can buy as many trains as it can afford (from the bank). Mike confirmed this here.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Alexander
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say a company has no train and refinances. It uses the new funds to purchase two trains from the bank. Can it then use the leftover funds to also buy a train from another company?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jim b
United States
Berkeley
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
OutsidePasser wrote:
Let's say a company has no train and refinances. It uses the new funds to purchase two trains from the bank. Can it then use the leftover funds to also buy a train from another company?

7.11 Forced Train purchases
Every company must have a train at the end of its operating turn. If a company has no train, cannot afford to buy one from the bank, and is unable to purchase one from another company, then it must buy the next train from the bank by selling company stock, or by re-financing. Any train bought in this instance must be a train from the bank. The company may not opt to buy a train from another company instead. The methods may not be combined.


I think the emphasized text mandates that any train(s) purchased during a refinance must be from the bank.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
marc magner
United States
webster
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jimb wrote:
OutsidePasser wrote:
Let's say a company has no train and refinances. It uses the new funds to purchase two trains from the bank. Can it then use the leftover funds to also buy a train from another company?

7.11 Forced Train purchases
Every company must have a train at the end of its operating turn. If a company has no train, cannot afford to buy one from the bank, and is unable to purchase one from another company, then it must buy the next train from the bank by selling company stock, or by re-financing. Any train bought in this instance must be a train from the bank. The company may not opt to buy a train from another company instead. The methods may not be combined.


I think the emphasized text mandates that any train(s) purchased during a refinance must be from the bank.


agreed, but when you finance a train, does the train purchase phase end, and if so why can you purchase a 2nd train from the bank? hence after the initial forced purchase, what can you use the surplus cash for? As Mike hutton points out in his linked post, you can use the surplus cash to purchase additional trains from the bank, why not from other companies?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Hutton
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
easterly1 wrote:

agreed, but when you finance a train, does the train purchase phase end, and if so why can you purchase a 2nd train from the bank? hence after the initial forced purchase, what can you use the surplus cash for? As Mike hutton points out in his linked post, you can use the surplus cash to purchase additional trains from the bank, why not from other companies?


The train purchase under 7.11 is made as part of the train buying phase and so you can only buy from the bank if you have just refinanced. So the item in bold applies as Jim mentioned.

In this respect the chapter numbering in the rules is unhelpful - 7.9 to 7.11 should all be grouped together to make this clear.

Sorry for any confusion caused.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Berry
Scotland
Edinburgh
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Mike Hutton wrote:
The train purchase under 7.11 is made as part of the train buying phase and so you can only buy from the bank if you have just refinanced. So the item in bold applies as Jim mentioned.

In this respect the chapter numbering in the rules is unhelpful - 7.9 to 7.11 should all be grouped together to make this clear.


Hi Mike, I don't understand why the section numbering would make any difference. 7.9 is about normal train purchases and allows purchases from other companies. Making 7.11 part of the same section might be taken as implying that after a refinance, second and subsequent trains could be bought from other companies after all. If that is not your intent, I think it actually makes more sense to have the sections separate.

IMO, all that is needed is an extra sentence to say that after a company has refinanced, it may buy any number of trains from the bank if it has sufficient funds.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Hutton
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
You may be correct; in either case it's another item for the FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.