Ben Bertrandt
msg tools
Hi All,

We're playing our first adventure of Hook Mountain Massacre and are trying to learn the ropes on the new banish aspect of the game. Thus, we just want to clarify what "Banish" means.

So Valeros just went to make a check on the Sage ally and failed. The Sage is a basic card. However, we don't think we have the option to banish a bane here as we never actually acquired the ally.

Are we correct in that you have to specifically acquire the card before you can banish the card? So in this example, the Sage ally goes back to the ally pile of cards in box, right?

Thanks in advance for the wisdom +2 (and happy holidays).

Ben (and lil' Abby)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
bendbuddy wrote:
Hi All,

We're playing our first adventure of Hook Mountain Massacre and are trying to learn the ropes on the new banish aspect of the game. Thus, we just want to clarify what "Banish" means.

So Valeros just went to make a check on the Sage ally and failed. The Sage is a basic card. However, we don't think we have the option to banish a bane here as we never actually acquired the ally.

Are we correct in that you have to specifically acquire the card before you can banish the card? So in this example, the Sage ally goes back to the ally pile of cards in box, right?

Thanks in advance for the wisdom +2 (and happy holidays).

Ben (and lil' Abby)


Banes are banished when defeated. Boons are banished if you fail to acquire them. So the Sage in your example is banished. Because it is a boon, you have the OPTION of removing it from the game. With banes, it's not optional.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig S.
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Also remember that cards are banished when you permanently close a location.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bertrandt
msg tools
Thanks, C South. Those explanations were extremely helpful. My 9-yr-old daughter just said, "See...told ya so!" Pfffft - she didn't know.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris M
United States
Kearneysville
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
However note that cards you acquire but choose not to continue in your deck between adventures are "returned to the box" - not banished.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Bertrandt
msg tools
Hah! Perfect timing. We just won the Them Ogres Ain't Right and we're wondering that very point, Chris. Much appreciated for adding on to this thread.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vadim Golembo
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This might also help.
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2q4q3?Banish-vs-Remove-from-Game
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan
France
flag msg tools
mb
Tselin3369 wrote:
However note that cards you acquire but choose not to continue in your deck between adventures are "returned to the box" - not banished.


Blessings of the gods are Basic, but they say "If you encounter this card, you automatically acquire it". So, basically, I can't get rid of them (unless they are in a location I permanently close)... like a piece of tape on my fingers... Is this right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Warner
United States
Middletown
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. You can't not acquire them if you encounter them. So the ways to banish them are limited to them being in a permanently closed location, as the closing requirement for a location, or if they are in a dead character's deck.

I've got a guide her that helps you record removed cards and has the rules about when things are banished:

http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/98267/game-accessories-lay...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.C.Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Correct. You can't not acquire them if you encounter them. So the ways to banish them are limited to them being in a permanently closed location, as the closing requirement for a location, or if they are in a dead character's deck.

I've got a guide her that helps you record removed cards and has the rules about when things are banished:

http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/98267/game-accessories-lay...
Or if you acquire one and it exceeds the limit of Blessings in your hand, at the end of the Scenario you can just junk it. Who cares if it's in your hand during the Scenario, you can always Explore with it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Throknor
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mccrispy wrote:
269Hawkmoon wrote:
Correct. You can't not acquire them if you encounter them. So the ways to banish them are limited to them being in a permanently closed location, as the closing requirement for a location, or if they are in a dead character's deck.

I've got a guide her that helps you record removed cards and has the rules about when things are banished:

http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/98267/game-accessories-lay...
Or if you acquire one and it exceeds the limit of Blessings in your hand, at the end of the Scenario you can just junk it. Who cares if it's in your hand during the Scenario, you can always Explore with it.
Those cards aren't banished, just returned to the box, so they don't trigger the 'remove from game' logics.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Calthaer the Bard
Turks and Caicos Islands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Throknor wrote:
Those cards aren't banished, just returned to the box, so they don't trigger the 'remove from game' logics.


It really is quite difficult, once you read the rules carefully, to banish "Blessing of the Gods" cards. You basically have to remove it from the game when you close a location and it's there in the deck, or use it if there's a location that requires you to banish a blessing upon closing, or something.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.