Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: rule 9.8.3 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mike morton

Oklahoma
msg tools
mb
rule 9.8.3 third bullet.
New aircraft generated by Add’l Round of
Combat table go immediately to the Escort/
Air Attack Chart [E3] to resolve combat
(the U-Boat is automatically detected).
The U-Boat may not fire Flak during the
second (and any subsequent) round; it is
considered submerged by this point. Note:
in effect, an aircraft attack may generate
another aircraft attack, so on and so forth,
if the player is extremely unlucky with their
Add’l Round of Combat dice roll.

1.How is the u boat attacked if it is already submerged?


2.How can another attack be generated since what triggers it is a miss on the flak table? the uboat is submerged and cant fire flak.

the erratta for 9.8 says if a aircraft is generated the encounter ends but only when a aircraft is generated during a attack on on a initially unescorted ship.ive been playing it as the eratta states but in ALL cases of air encounters which makes more sense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Willows
United States
Woburn
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: rules
WWII boats only submerged to attack. Since you are in a new encounter and your first round is over, you are considered to be surfaced for the purposes of this, and other rules.

That's why that when in a new encounter, you must specify a new attack profile, such as whether to submerge and what the range is.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: rules
ASW aircraft in WWII carried depth charges.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Willows
United States
Woburn
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: rules
Correct, but you can still fire flack in the first round, because you are surfaced.

Look at it this way, your electric engines are slow. By attempting an additional round, you are abandoning your original attack position and seeking a new one on the surface (usually at range to avoid detection - your ship's profile is much harder to see than that of your opponent).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike morton

Oklahoma
msg tools
mb
Re: rules
alright,read the note at the end of the rule.how can you generate more aircraft if you are submerged.you have to roll a miss on the flak table to generate another aircraft.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kranz
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: rules
grognard11 wrote:
how can you generate more aircraft if you are submerged.you have to roll a miss on the flak table to generate another aircraft.

If you miss the aircraft, you roll on the Add'l Round of Combat table on the Encounter Chart [E1] -- in which case another Aircraft Encounter or possibly escorts arriving on the scene is a possibility.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike morton

Oklahoma
msg tools
mb
Re: rules
please read the rules section i quoted in the origanal post.it says the uboat is submerged and may not fire flak.if you cant fire flak you cant generate a miss which is the only way to get a additional round of combat.its pretty straight forward in the rules but it doesnt make sense to me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Willows
United States
Woburn
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: rules
grognard11 wrote:
please read the rules section i quoted.it says the uboat is submerged and may not fire flak.if you cant fire flak you cant generate a miss which is the only way to get a additional round of combat.its pretty straight forward in the rules but it doesnt make sense to me.


No, that is not correct.

You do not "generate" an additional round, you choose to do it and ONLY against unescorted targets (read the first sentence of 9.4.3). Otherwise you "follow" per 9.7.

Ok, let's say that you decide to attempt an additional round against an unescorted target. You reload and then roll on the additional combat table. You roll a 5 and encounter an aircraft. At this point you are surfaced as I described above. You may now fire flak in the first round, but not in later ones since you crash dived.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike morton

Oklahoma
msg tools
mb
Re: rules
please,please read the rules section i quoted.9.8.3 3rd bullet.

• If the Flak fire result is a “Miss,” the
enemy aircraft shadows the U-Boat after
completing its own attack. In effect, the
engagement continues by consulting the
Add’l Round of Combat table on the
Encounter Chart [E1]. This may result in
either an escort arriving, which then rolls
for detection on the Escort Detection Chart
[E2], or a new aircraft arriving on the scene.
When rolling for detection, escorts do
receive the Previous Detection +1 modifier.
New aircraft generated by Add’l Round of
Combat table go immediately to the Escort/
Air Attack Chart [E3] to resolve combat
(the U-Boat is automatically detected).
The U-Boat may not fire Flak during the
second (and any subsequent) round; it is
considered submerged by this point. Note:
in effect, an aircraft attack may generate
another aircraft attack, so on and so forth,
if the player is extremely unlucky with their
Add’l Round of Combat dice roll.



3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Willows
United States
Woburn
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grognard11 wrote:
please,please read the rules section i quoted.9.8.3 3rd bullet.


Dude, relax, I have read it.

Ok; step by step.

Quote:
If the Flak fire result is a “Miss,” the
enemy aircraft shadows the U-Boat
after
completing its own attack.


So, you encounter the aircraft and miss it with flak. It also attacks you, but either misses or does not destroy you. The aircraft follows you as per what I underlined.

Quote:
In effect, the
engagement continues by consulting the
Add’l Round of Combat table on the
Encounter Chart [E1].


Because you missed and the aircraft also missed you (or at least did not destroy you), the encounter continues. BUT, it continues to shadow you and you must now roll for ADDITIONAL air or sea forces to join now. IF THEY DO NOT, the original aircraft continues to attack you even while you are submerged and cannot attack back.

In other words, just because a new sea or air asset does not join combat does not mean that the first one cannot continue to attack after you crashed dived to avoid it and can't fire at it.

Or perhaps I really am misunderstanding and someone else can try to explain.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kranz
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You would basically follow the chart and Flak results specified. Since you are submerged and can't fire Flak at the aircraft, it's an automatic miss result. Which means you have to go to the Add'l Round of Combat table to see what happens next. How do you end such repeated air attacks? When you roll no encounter on the Add'l Round of Combat table on the Encounter chart.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike morton

Oklahoma
msg tools
mb
thanks for clearing this up for me.the errata for 9.8 and having to assume not firing flak is a miss through me off.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.