Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue – Veteran and Rescue Dog» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dog Movement and Abilitiy rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
R S
United States
Salem
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the dog "lead" a treated vicitm for 1 movement point just like other firefighters?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Worthington
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
2010 Releases ........................................ The Resistance, Haggis & Triumvirate ..................................... Now accepting submissions for 2011 releases ........................................ www.IndieBoardsandCards.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the dog can only do the actions listed on its card.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
R S
United States
Salem
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks! I thought that might be the case since it would make him overpowered.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreas Krüger
Germany
Krefeld
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can he drag a treated victim? I think he should - treating a victim should not be a disadvantage, but maybe a person who can walk does not like to be pulled to the exit by a dog... ;-)

This is also important for the lightly injured victims.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Garcia
Canada
St. Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thamos von Nostria wrote:
Can he drag a treated victim? I think he should - treating a victim should not be a disadvantage, but maybe a person who can walk does not like to be pulled to the exit by a dog... ;-)

This is also important for the lightly injured victims.


Andreas posed a good question. Can the dog drag a lightly wounded (or treated) POI?

Is there an official rule made about this one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Garcia
Canada
St. Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know the rule came from Travis at Indie Board & Games directly but I still think he should be able to lead. It's not thematic if he can't, don't you think? I mean, if you were in a burning building and a dog wearing a FD vest came up to you and barked for you to follow, wouldn't you? It'd be safer than sitting in a burning building. To not make the dog so over powered, maybe the dog can lead for 3 AP because he has to wait for the POI.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Davedude77 wrote:
I know the rule came from Travis at Indie Board & Games directly but I still think he should be able to lead. It's not thematic if he can't, don't you think? I mean, if you were in a burning building and a dog wearing a FD vest came up to you and barked for you to follow, wouldn't you? It'd be safer than sitting in a burning building. To not make the dog so over powered, maybe the dog can lead for 3 AP because he has to wait for the POI.


We were guessing about this rule in a game last night. We concluded thematically that since a regular firefighter can lead for half cost (1 instead of 2), the dog should also lead for half cost (2 instead of 4).

I agree that thematically it makes little sense for a dog to drag a victim that is treated, unless treatment just means they can walk with assistance from a firefighter (maybe one arm around a shoulder?), but the dog is too short to help hold them up.

Or you could roll to "determine cynophobia" - a treated dog lover will follow the rescue dog but someone with fear won't go willingly, and has to be dragged out kicking and screaming.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.