Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Sails of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Standard Rules - Raking rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
On page 26, we have two illustrations of raking. In the middle column of the page, we have text examples. Do these typed examples correspond with the images?

The reason I ask: Range is determined by the ruler from the dot of the firing arc to the edge of the base.

But with raking, you are trying to target the mast and determine what edge of the base it crosses. Short edge defines a raking shot. The question is if you still measure range to the base edge or now with raking, the center mast.

I assume still the edge of the base since it isn't spelled out as being different. But with the image, the base is within short range while the center mast is at long range. The text, if it corresponds, talks of the ship firing at long range.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Angiolino
Italy
Rome
European Union
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry no, there is no relationship between images and text. Images just show the positions for a front and a rear broadside, while the text gives examples for a couple of raking broadsides across the front and a couple across the rear by ships of different firepower.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
angiolillo wrote:
Sorry no, there is no relationship between images and text. Images just show the positions for a front and a rear broadside, while the text gives examples for a couple of raking broadsides across the front and a couple across the rear by ships of different firepower.

Okay, so still count the front edge of the base then for range. Thanks.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.