Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

BattleLore (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Hubbell
United States
Altoona
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
What qualifies "off the game board", the half hexes or only completely no existent hexes.
Also, if a unit is forced to retreat an impassible terrain (I hope I am saying the right one here, I mean like off the board or a river) can pursuit or advance be used even though they technically did not move, but rather took the damage for the retreat?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Erik Webb
United States
Edmonds
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both the half hexes and non-existent hexes are "off the game board".

Advance can't be used since they still occupy the hex you would advance to.

As far as pursuit goes, I would say yes you can use it once but someone else may be able to clarify that since I do not have rulebook in front of me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Maad McCarthy
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can never move into a "Half Hex".

Reference Book Page 6
Quote:
A unit cannot move into or through incomplete hexes along the
game board’s edges.


Advance could not be used if the defending unit does not or can not retreat from it's space (Unless eliminated) as you are required to move into the defending units original space.

Reference Book Page 2
Quote:
After an attack eliminates an adjacent target unit or forces an
adjacent target unit to move from its original hex during combat,
the attacking unit may advance. To advance, the attacking unit
moves into the target unit’s original hex
.


This would be the same when using pursue

Reference Book Page 7
Quote:
The player must move the attacking unit into the hex the target
unit occupied before moving it any further
.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Smith
United States
Paducah
Kentucky
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pursuit is used instead of advance, when advance can be used. Your first move has to be into the hex the opponents unit vacated, and your second move, if available, can not move back into your original hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Hubbell
United States
Altoona
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
That makes a lot more sense. Thank you for the prompt responses!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.