Popular Tags: [View All]
Cookie Monster
Belgium
De Pinte
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, the title sort of says it all

I am relatively new to boardgaming, but so far I enjoy it a lot!
I mostly play with my boyfriend, so I'm always on the lookout for games that scale well with two players. Every now and then, we go to a gaming night in the neighbourhood, and a few times a year, we get friends together for boardgaming. But mostly, it's just the two of us.

So, what games would you die hard gamers recommend? Although we like games like Dominion and Ascension: Deckbuilding Game, it feels like playing solitaire with two. Not a big prob, but sometimes I think I'd like some more interaction/confrontation. That's probably why we also enjoy Mage Wars Arena.

All recommendations are welcome, they will end up on my wish list for 2014 :-)

Thank you, and happy holidays!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kasper Lauest
Denmark
Helsinge
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you haven't tried it, Twilight Struggle is an immense 2 player game. That is probably my #1 suggestion, although it is not a short game.

If you like Mage Wars, I guess you will probably also like Summoner Wars.

Seasons is another suggestion.

Castles Of Burgundy is probably one of the most popular 2 player games at the moment. There's not a HUGE amount of interaction, but this is a game that a LOT of people enjoy.

But of course, Android: Netrunner is the BEST 2 player game out there, but that is probably gonna be a hard sell.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonard Moses II
United States
Hixson
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Innovation

And get the expansions "just in case you ever want them". I like the non pictured version but whichever you want. My wife prefers the version with pictures which I do not own, but it is "my game" as far as preference.

I like Traders of Osaka but I have some reservations about recommending it to you as I am afraid it will bore you. It may be too small.