Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Lincoln's War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Relieving sieges rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Lapham
United States
Glenview
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A few questions about sieges. My apologies if these have already been answered elsewhere.

If a force attempts to relieve a siege, can the besieged force participate in the battle? If so, can more than twelve stars participate in the battle? If the besieged force has more IT than attack strength, can the relief force choose to attack without combining with the besieged force?

If the relief attempt succeeds and the space is now overstacked, what happens?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Poniske
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes a relieving force may participate in relieving a siege with the besieged force BUT the two forces would have to attack separately and combined they cannot exceed 12 stars, so in the end, if they did win, there would be no over-stacking.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Lapham
United States
Glenview
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, John. Your prompt attention to these threads is greatly appreciated. I hope we see quick progress on a set of Living Rules that captures all of the clarifications in one easy to use document. I'd love to see an index in any such document.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michel Boucher
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lafe wrote:
A few questions about sieges. My apologies if these have already been answered elsewhere.

If a force attempts to relieve a siege, can the besieged force participate in the battle? If so, can more than twelve stars participate in the battle? If the besieged force has more IT than attack strength, can the relief force choose to attack without combining with the besieged force?

If the relief attempt succeeds and the space is now overstacked, what happens?


Those are good questions. Siege was added late in the development and had never occurred in playtesting so it was an after-thought. However, I think this is covered by the rules, to whit if a force attempts to relieve a siege, it will be under its CO's activation and so consequently could not include the besieged force. The besieged force can also attack in a separate activation. This could work using a campaign card with could activate both CO (complete the activation of one before starting the other, as per the campaign cards) before the besieging force can be moved out of the way.

As you have to choose a campaign card at the beginning of the turn and sieges will occur later on (and be relieved automatically after operations are completed) it is unlikely that you would have the right campaign card, but hey, stranger things have happened.

As to overstacking (which would not happen in this case), it is business as usual. Some generals are moved aside or demoted to bring the number of stars within stacking requirements.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Error Flynn
Finland
Helsinki
flag msg tools
Poniske wrote:
Yes a relieving force may participate in relieving a siege with the besieged force BUT the two forces would have to attack separately and combined they cannot exceed 12 stars, so in the end, if they did win, there would be no over-stacking.


Does this mean, that if for an example a force of 6 stars are besieged in a city by an enemy force of 12 stars, you can only attack the hex with another force of 6 stars in an attempt to relieve the siege? And the besieged force of 6 stars cannot participate in the attack.

Doesn't it make it almost impossible to relieve the siege set by a major army?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michel Boucher
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Error Flynn wrote:
Poniske wrote:
Yes a relieving force may participate in relieving a siege with the besieged force BUT the two forces would have to attack separately and combined they cannot exceed 12 stars, so in the end, if they did win, there would be no over-stacking.


Does this mean, that if for an example a force of 6 stars are besieged in a city by an enemy force of 12 stars, you can only attack the hex with another force of 6 stars in an attempt to relieve the siege? And the besieged force of 6 stars cannot participate in the attack.

Doesn't it make it almost impossible to relieve the siege set by a major army?


You can attack with any strength you can muster. If the relief of the siege is successful, you can only send in troops into the city to the stacking limit. However, a major army must advance as a whole, whereas a minor army CO may choose to advance only some of his subordinates, so in that case you can demote generals in the (formerly besieged) city or move some (or all) aside.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Michel, do you mean "major victory" or "minor victory" instead of armies? I think that's what you meant since the advance requirements are tied to that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.