Recommend
12 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Sessions

Subject: Three games in... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Elliott
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...and I've been pretty much hitting the extremes.

First play through, Kmdt Karl Sommers took command of the Type VIIB U-49 in Sep. '39. Over the following nearly four years, Kmdt Sommers career followed a dream trajectory. Promoted at every opportunity, he retired from the sea after 20 patrols, sinking 31 ships, totaling 229400t, including the HMS Barham, whose sinking earned him the Knight's Cross, which was followed up with a second and third award.

Second play through, Kmdt Dieter Thalmann apparently slept through his training, as his Type VIIB U-48 was attacked by aircraft in transit to his very first patrol, forcing a scuttling attempt that claimed the lives of all hands. His career ended before it had even begun.

Third play through, Kmdt Hans Gruber was a rising star in the U-boat command. He captained U-65, a Type IXB. He started slowly, with a single 3100t small freighter claimed on his first patrol. But the following string of patrols remains legendary throughout the U-boat fleet. Five consecutive patrols with a minimum of 20000t sunk. Another highlight was a single patrol during the "Second Happy Time" when Gruber, by ten promoted to Korvettenkapitan and winner of a Knight's Cross, he sank six vessels for 39400t. After another second patrol, Gruber was once again sent to North America, but when attacking and sinking the 10000t Torinia, his boat was attacked by (an apparently well-trained) escort, that battered the poor U-65 for hours, slowly adding cumulative damage to the hull that eventually was his undoing. He finished with a tally of 203000t from 28 ships, with a posthumous promotion to Frigattenkapitan and a Knight's Cross with Oakleaves small consolation for his family.

I've noticed a few things. I like the decision making, but I wish there was a little more you could do once attacked by an escort. But, it is probably pretty accurate. Once you get to 1943, I think you pretty much have to let anything escorted go by without launching an attack. It is just too hard to break out of the death spiral.

I also thought it was kinda funny how differently my two successful careers panned out. The first time I had amazing luck with torpedoes, hardly any misses or duds, while for most of the third patrol, it was just constant misses and duds. Additionally, the third patrol it seemed I always got attacked, and would take tons of hits, but had amazing luck with repairs.

I dunno, just some observations.
13 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heya,

Yes, 1943 can be pretty brutal. However, I think juicy escorted targets are worth the risk, just be sure you don't take ANY unnecessary risks. Attacking from long range gets you down to only +2.....just don't attack with steam in the day, etc. Unless you are VERY unlucky you should be able to survive a +2 depthcharging.

Hopefully you can have a more "average" patrol. But you certainly hit the extremes with the first two, lol.

Greg
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chick Lewis
United States
Claremont
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Very nice and interesting report !

Just this morning I encountered my first capital ship, the BARHAM, on a mission to Norway. I had the "superior torpedoes" random event from a transit box.

I hit the Barham from long range with two torpedoes, and rolled "snake-eyes" for duds. Verdamnt ! Barely survived the depth-charging as the Barham steamed majestically away.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Elliott
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My first patrol I encountered three capital ships, Ark Royal, Royal Oak and Barham. I attacked Ark Royal, inflicting no damage and taking several rounds of punishment for my trouble. Royal Oak, I misunderstood the rules and failed to follow (I thought you could follow anything before attacking, and that the rule was saying you couldn't follow and undamaged capital ship after attacking, like maybe when they're just cruising around you can follow, but one they get chased by a few torpedoes, then they scram).

Barham I found at night and sunk with a four torpedo spread. I haven't encountered any capital ships since.

I may try some long range periscope attacks in the future, but dang, you get caught in that death spiral and just feels like you're... in a world of hurt.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kranz
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's correct that you may not Follow a capital ship unless it was damaged.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sturmer wrote:
Heya,

Yes, 1943 can be pretty brutal. However, I think juicy escorted targets are worth the risk, just be sure you don't take ANY unnecessary risks. Attacking from long range gets you down to only +2.....just don't attack with steam in the day, etc. Unless you are VERY unlucky you should be able to survive a +2 depthcharging.


Of course, if you miss that first roll, you are now +3, needing a 5 or less . . . 14% chance per toss. I know I've gone down *lots* of times, unable to get that 5.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Montgomery
United States
Joliet
Illinois
flag msg tools
Dear Geek: Please insert the wittiest comment you can think of in this text pop-up. Then times it by seven.
badge
The Coat of Arms of Clan Montgomery - Scotland. Yes, that's a woman with the head of a savage in her hand, and an anchor. No clue what it means, but it's cool.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Lainford Express wrote:
My first patrol I encountered three capital ships, Ark Royal, Royal Oak and Barham. I attacked Ark Royal, inflicting no damage and taking several rounds of punishment for my trouble. Royal Oak, I misunderstood the rules and failed to follow (I thought you could follow anything before attacking, and that the rule was saying you couldn't follow and undamaged capital ship after attacking, like maybe when they're just cruising around you can follow, but one they get chased by a few torpedoes, then they scram).

Barham I found at night and sunk with a four torpedo spread. I haven't encountered any capital ships since.

I may try some long range periscope attacks in the future, but dang, you get caught in that death spiral and just feels like you're... in a world of hurt.


That is a ridiculously low-odds chance of occurring, but this game tends to produce these kinds of results over a large enough sampling. Nice job! On a 1:36 chance of finding a capital ship . . . three in one patrol is amazing - about 1:46,000. Congratulations!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Elliott
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoops, I wrote first PATROL but I meant first GAME. Sorry for the confusion. Three in one patrol would be nuts!!!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cmontgo2 wrote:
Sturmer wrote:
Heya,

Yes, 1943 can be pretty brutal. However, I think juicy escorted targets are worth the risk, just be sure you don't take ANY unnecessary risks. Attacking from long range gets you down to only +2.....just don't attack with steam in the day, etc. Unless you are VERY unlucky you should be able to survive a +2 depthcharging.


Of course, if you miss that first roll, you are now +3, needing a 5 or less . . . 14% chance per toss. I know I've gone down *lots* of times, unable to get that 5.


OK Chris,
I hate to say this but I'm pretty sure your math is off. 2 = 1/36 3 = 2/36 4 = 3/36 and 5 = 4/36. Adding up those probabilities, you have a 10/36 chance of rolling a 5 or less (the adjusted number you need to escape detection.) Therefore, you actually have about a 28% chance of avoiding detection - so you'll have to survive 3 or 4 depth-chargings, in theory

Of course, if then the fuel tanks get hit and then the dive planes and then.....it gets ugly. hehehe. But +3 isn't really an insurmountable modifier. You'll probably take damage, yes. But you should be able to get out of it if you can avoid the fuel tank or dive plane hits.

Greg
Game Designer
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.