Recommend
15 
 Thumb up
 Hide
113 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »   | 

Firefly: The Game» Forums » Variants

Subject: Virtual Expansion: Aces & Eights rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I know I've talked about this one for a while, but I sort of put it on the back-burner, waiting to see how Breakin' Atmo might change the landscape.

Now that the contents of that expansion have been spoiled, I can get back to business. Tentatively, it looks like my expansion will include:

31 NEW CARDS

CREW

* The Crew of the Aces & Eights (including a new leader, Jack Leland), as spoiled elsewhere
* Unique characters: Murphy (from Shindig) and DeSalvo
*Non-unique characters: Barker x2 and Kid x 5 (one is every port)

GEAR

* Bible x2
* Devil's Wardrobe
* Stacked Deck x2 and Leland's Stacked Deck
* Ship Schematics x4

UPGRADES

* Long-range Scanners x2
* Onboard Casino x2
* Shuttle x2


NEW SHIP: THE ACES & EIGHTS

It comes with an Onboard Casino!


NEW RULES

* Advanced Careers in the 'Verse
* First Mates and Mutiny

...and others if they are playtested and thematically appropriate.




9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good luck with it all George. I'm looking forward to what it will look like. Yeah, I'm on a pause too, as I have four other new games to play around with, and one requires lots of assembly! I'll probably get back into Firefly after Breakin' Atmo is in my hot little hands...

Merry Christmas!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yosef Bender

Texas
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
looking forward to seeing it
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Although I've been puttering with this sort of behind the scenes, there's been a semi-major obstacle that should be removed this weekend. There may be some new cards as early as Sunday.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
You can check out the first batch of cards here:

http://s195.photobucket.com/user/gwek/library/Aces%20and%20E...

These are drafts, so I'm definitely interested in feedback.

3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C David Dent
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Love what you have so far! I might have to print out some of those and try them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Any other feedback? Not that I'm needy...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C David Dent
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Onboard Casino: "Requires Grifter" if I lose my grifter (to Reavers, say) does that mean I lose the upgrade? Perhaps a rewording to say that the ability requires a Grifter, not the equipment.

How does "Stacked Deck" work with the Onboard Casino (The text implies it can be used that way)? Is there an advantage to drawing a misbehave card in that instance?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
MrDave2176 wrote:
Onboard Casino: "Requires Grifter" if I lose my grifter (to Reavers, say) does that mean I lose the upgrade? Perhaps a rewording to say that the ability requires a Grifter, not the equipment.


Thanks, David. I'll take a closer look to see if I can clarify. I tried to mirror the phrasing of the Sky Hook (which I believe just says "Requires Pilot").

This is a little more complicated, because the Onboard Casino technically offers two different bonuses. One requires a Grifter and the other does not.

MrDave2176 wrote:
How does "Stacked Deck" work with the Onboard Casino (The text implies it can be used that way)? Is there an advantage to drawing a misbehave card in that instance?


In the rules as written, they don't really work together. I was actually thinking of one of my house rules when I put them together:

GRIFTERS: If you have at least one Grifter on your crew, you may use a Work action to make a Con roll. Roll 1d6 and add +1 for each additional Grifter on your crew or for each piece of Gambling gear you have equipped.

1-3: No payout.
4+: Payout equal to result times $100.

Thrillin’ Heroics: If you get a result of Thrillin' Heroics, you may choose whether you want to re-roll and add to the total. For each re-roll, you must Misbehave successfully once before collecting any money.


Taken together, if the have the Onboard Casino, you automatically get a +1 to the Con roll. If you also have, for example, a Grifter equipped with a Stacked Deck, you get a total of +3.

I have to really think about if all this is balanced...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Gallagher
United States
Saginaw
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shuttle: three sectors is a *long* way in this game. I'd say "adjacent sector" but allow any action. We've seen them do Work actions with the shuttle (War Stories).

Quality of the cards looks good. I'm looking forward to seeing more.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C David Dent
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Karl, I'm with you on the "adjacent sector" I don't know how many times I'd have given my left arm to have a way to reach worlds 1 sector away because I broke down, had to evade or was stopped by the purple bellies.

Also "adjacent sector" allows you to reach worlds with Reavers camping on them. But doesn't reduce the risk much since they could still come get you.

I'm not sure I'd open it to "any" action. Deal and Buy maybe, but decidedly not Work. That's too powerful and not really thematic.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Folks,

Five new cards -- the first Crew cards -- have been posed. You may have seen these characters before, but with a different look.

http://s195.photobucket.com/user/gwek/library/Aces%20and%20E...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Gallagher
United States
Saginaw
TX
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'd hire that pilot . . .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Murray
United States
Richmond
Texas
flag msg tools
Love it. I am going to print these off and test them this weekend, keep up the good work.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Folks, I've updated with 3 new Crew for the expansion (Devil and the "Kid" card with 2 different images:

http://s195.photobucket.com/user/gwek/library/Aces%20and%20E...

I hope people are enjoying these cards, since they're certainly fun to make. If you have any feedback on ways to improve the cards, or comments on whether they seem balanced or not, I would love to hear it.

Also, please note that I wanted to have 5 different pics for the "Kid" card -- if anyone has suggestions, let me know. I looked for pictures of Hiroku (the kid from Haven in Serenity) as well as Thomas Thomas from recent Doctor Who but could find nothing.

I believe this leaves me with only a handful of cards left to make for this "set": Jack Leland, Murphy, and Barker x2. (Which reminds me -- does anyone have a pic of the Barker/Captain of the Brutus from the pilot? That another image I wanted to use but haven't been able to track down.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C David Dent
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
How many cards total are you planning for your set?

Will there be an "Aces & Eights" ship card?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The initial post spells it out: 31 (6 per supply planet, plus 1 Leader)... I think. There will be a fair amount of doubles, so I have to finalize what's on each planet and make sure it balances out.

There will be a ship... I'm hoping there will be a card, but since I'm trying to figure out the best way to do it, since it needs to be modified quite a bit compared to a Firefly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Updated with one more card: Murphy (from Shindig... the only "named" character from the actual series).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C David Dent
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
RE: Murphy...It says once per "job" is that once per turn, work action or actual job (even if it is a two part job)

Is that just for him? (everyone else rolls guns but he rolls talk and all successes count) Or does it convert the entire job to a negotiate job if he uses his ability?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The War Chief
United States
Parkville
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
BRING ME THE HEAD OF SETH NEMEC AND RIK FALCH!!!!!!
badge
In Memorial: Moose, my dog. B:? D:01/13/16. He died peacefully surrounded by those who loved him. You will be missed.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Any chance these cards will be available through Artscow?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
MrDave2176 wrote:
RE: Murphy...It says once per "job" is that once per turn, work action or actual job (even if it is a two part job)

Is that just for him? (everyone else rolls guns but he rolls talk and all successes count) Or does it convert the entire job to a negotiate job if he uses his ability?



I will have to check the phrasing... My intention was to mirror Stitch's ability. More response tonight after I can crack open the box...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
MrDave2176 wrote:
RE: Murphy...It says once per "job" is that once per turn, work action or actual job (even if it is a two part job)


I believe this is more a rules question than a customs question, since Murphy follows the same rules as Stitch.

My personal interpretation is basically "Once per Work Action when working on a Job."

To me, that's consistent with the way "Job" is interpreted for requirements, Crew working, etc. Every distinct Work action is basically a "reset." (As an aside, the real question is whether the "per Job" abilities reset if you Botch, since there are no jobs in the core game, and I think only a single job in the expansion that have Misbehaves at both ends of the job.)

MrDave2176 wrote:
Is that just for him? (everyone else rolls guns but he rolls talk and all successes count) Or does it convert the entire job to a negotiate job if he uses his ability?


I'm not sure what you're asking here, since there's only a single roll for the character. It seems pretty intuitive from Stitch that one Negotiate ROLL is converted to a Fight ROLL. Same here, but it reverse.

If there's confusion in the way it's written, is it with my card, or with Stitch's (copied here)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Springheeledjack wrote:
Any chance these cards will be available through Artscow?


I think it might be possible, as long as there are no legal issues.

I know I'm planning to print 'em out at some point.

As a related point -- does anyone have good scans of the backs of the cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Krubski
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
BTW, updated with 2 cards (2 versions of the Barker).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The War Chief
United States
Parkville
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
BRING ME THE HEAD OF SETH NEMEC AND RIK FALCH!!!!!!
badge
In Memorial: Moose, my dog. B:? D:01/13/16. He died peacefully surrounded by those who loved him. You will be missed.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gwek wrote:
Springheeledjack wrote:
Any chance these cards will be available through Artscow?


I think it might be possible, as long as there are no legal issues.

I know I'm planning to print 'em out at some point.

As a related point -- does anyone have good scans of the backs of the cards?


There's plenty of unauthorized games and expansions available on Artscow.whistle

The worse I've ever seen happen was a company sending a C&D order. The person who put up the files on Artscow took them down and that was the end of it.

So I wouldn't worry about it too much.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »   | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.