Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Forbidden Desert» Forums » Rules

Subject: Water... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
E A
msg tools
This might be a stupid question, we just started playing.
How does the Water well mechanics work? Can we just move there and get the water as many times as you want or we can get it only after we turn the tile (which means we can get water only twice in the game at maximum).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Duke
United Kingdom
Fleet
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Normally, each well provides all players on it when it is turned over with 2 water at that point, and that's it. You can't use the well after it is first revealed. So, yes, that means just two refills from wells per game. Of course, the Water Carrier lets you break this rule.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Helm's Deep
United States
Muncy
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
...the grey rain-curtain turned all to silver glass and was rolled back, and he beheld white shores and beyond them a far green country under a swift sunrise.
Avatar
mb
The way I read it, you can only get the water when you excavate that tile, and then everyone on the tile gets 2 water, otherwise no luck. However, the water carrier can keep going back and getting 2 water, which seems to make him an indispensable character.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E A
msg tools
Thank you! It's clear now.
Another question: if there is ONE sand tile on the water well can the Water Carrier take the 2 waters?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yaxomoxay wrote:
Thank you! It's clear now.
Another question: if there is ONE sand tile on the water well can the Water Carrier take the 2 waters?

Yes.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sylvain Gauthier
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
AdmiralACF wrote:
yaxomoxay wrote:
Thank you! It's clear now.
Another question: if there is ONE sand tile on the water well can the Water Carrier take the 2 waters?

Yes.


If I remember well...you cannot flip a tile if there is sand on it.
So the answer would be "no"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Rabinowitz
United States
Columbia
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The water carrier's ability pertains to an already flipped water tile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D. R.
United States
California
flag msg tools
Since the adventurer cards are dealt randomly, it seems like a totally different game based on whether someone draws a water carrier or not. Without a water carrier there are at most 3 opportunities to get water:

1) Well 1 - 2 water to each player on tile at time of excavation
2) Well 2 - 2 water to each player on tile at time of excavation
3) Secret Water Reserve equipment card - 2 water to each player on tile at time card is played.

So at best each player gets 6 water plus what was in their canteen to begin with, and that's only if you can manage to regroup all players to a specific tile 3 times.

We had trouble with this in our game that lacked a carrier, and ended up losing.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan Jackson
Canada
flag msg tools
If the well has previously been excavated and there is only one sand on the tile, then you can still draw water from the well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Skellt wrote:
Since the adventurer cards are dealt randomly, it seems like a totally different game based on whether someone draws a water carrier or not. Without a water carrier there are at most 3 opportunities to get water:

1) Well 1 - 2 water to each player on tile at time of excavation
2) Well 2 - 2 water to each player on tile at time of excavation
3) Secret Water Reserve equipment card - 2 water to each player on tile at time card is played.

So at best each player gets 6 water plus what was in their canteen to begin with, and that's only if you can manage to regroup all players to a specific tile 3 times.

We had trouble with this in our game that lacked a carrier, and ended up losing.


On the other hand, my last game we didn't have a Water Carrier (Archeologist, Climber and Navigator) and won with 22 tiles excavated - the two we didn't were an item tile that got buried in one corner early and peeked at with a Terrascope after we revealed the Mirage, and one of the Wells - and water pretty much full (I think the Navigator was down one water).

Water Carrier has a splashy ability, but it's far from essential.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.