Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Star Trek: Attack Wing» Forums » Rules

Subject: Terrell doesn't buff himself does he? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Ptak
United States
Livermore
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The way I understood it, Captain Terrell did not confer a +1 agility dice to the ship he's on. But I played against a new player who presumed the ship Terrell was on included being a "friendly ship", and played that way.

I disagreed with this ruling, but couldn't find the reason why this wouldn't be the case.

So Terrell doesn't buff himself, yes? And what is the exact mechanism to prevent him from doing so?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon NyD

Denver
Colorado
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Terrell wrote:
Any Friendly ship within range 1 of your ships gains +1 defense die


I guess its just common knowledge that its "other friendly ships".. and errata from Andrew

FAQ wrote:
From the official FAQ thread under Captains:

3. Does Clark Terrell's ability add +1 defense die to his own ship, or just his allies' ships?

Clark Terrell does not add +1 defense die to his own ship.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Ptak
United States
Livermore
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My opponent argued, "But he is on a friendly ship." I didn't have the energy to try debating the point... or sifting through the thread for exact answers :\
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Whaley
United States
Cincinnati
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, at least now you have a ruling to point to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Evans
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Details...

From the FAQ:
Quote:
CAPTAIN CARDS
3. Does Clark Terrell's ability add +1 defense die to his own ship, or just his allies' ships?

Clark Terrell does not add +1 defense die to his own ship.


Terrell's original card text says:
Quote:
Any friendly ships within Range 1 of your ship gain +1 defense die.


This has been errata'd by Andrew to:
Quote:
Any other friendly ships within Range 1 of your ship gain +1 defense die.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Hare
msg tools
Are you friends with yourself? I thought not! QED. Terrel doesn't buff himself.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Waspinator
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I highly recommend printing the first post of the FAQ thread and taking it with you when you're playing at stores.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Ptak
United States
Livermore
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I should have looked at the FAQ first post, fortunately it's more organized than I presumed. Looks like I will have to do that [print the FAQ out], though it was last updated in august..
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.