Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Hannibal: Rome vs. Carthage» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat during Campaign card play rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
George Triantafyllidis
United Kingdom
Torquay
Devon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greetings fellow geeks
An issue came up the other day during our play.The Romans had a +10CU consular Army with both Consuls present.They played a Campaign card and decide to take action involving an offensive.The plan was one of the Consuls with half the Army to activate first and attack an adjacent enemy stack while the other would attack towards another route afterwards.The first attack turned badly and the Consul had to retreat back to where he started.The forces have to merge again in one single Army with the Roman player choosing the commander.The combined new Army now has less than 10CU and the retreating Consul and CUs are 'finished' for the rest of the Campaign.And theoretically the consular Army cannot split.The second Consul cannot move with his still non-activated CUs without violating the rule which says you cannot leave a Consul behind with less than 5CU,and also the already activated CUs and Consul cannot move again.Does this mean that the second Consul lost his chance to activate during this Campaign card play?If the Roman Army was initially stationed in the Rome space,could the retreating Consul end up inside the walled Rome space with his remaining CUs thus allowing the other Consul to activate his- outside the walls Army- in his turn?
Thank you in advance
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Brosius
United States
Needham Heights
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
My favorite 18xx game for six players is two games of 1846 with three players each.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, the player is stuck. You can't voluntarily leave a Consul without 5CUs, and you can't move the same CUs again on the next leg of the Campaign Card. (You could conduct a siege with the second activation if you happened to be in a space that was conducting a siege, though.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
You are correct. If you have less than 10 CU's you can't split the armies and since some moved, the rest are stuck. You cannot go into the city to keep it as two separate armies as this is now a voluntary reduction and not permitted.

The only option I see is your first army should have moved to another space before attacking (if that was even possible). That way the retreat would have taken him back to his original point of attack and not back into the space with the 2nd army. Or attack with the 2nd Army first if they had the better chance to win.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volker Hirscher
Germany
Oftersheim
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to sum it up: So you cannot activate both consuls in a army of e.g. 9 CUs, because one would be active with less than 5? Or can they be activated and only not moved to separate spaces? Sorry, this was a little unclear for me...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.