Lieven De Puysseleir
Belgium
Leuven
flag msg tools
trust me, I'm a dentist
badge
we don't lie, we use statistics
mbmbmbmbmb
Played my first game today, and the 3-player instance took us more than 4 (yes: FOUR) hours.

Although we were optimistic at the start and we had a lot of fun for the first couple hours, the latter half felt more like a chore.

It's possible that we made a few mistakes so please correct me if we played it wrong.

So here goes the story of a heroic galaxy conquest going horribly wrong:

In the beginning, there were only a few feeble planet-systems, originally named "home systems" and the population was happy and started to clone themselves and soon, they were in need of lebensraum.

Some space-faring contraptions called ships were build and clones were transported to nearby planetary systems to harvest the abundant resources.

Space was at ease and mighty technology was very, very, very (x20) soon unveiled.

When all of a sudden, out of the blue, the three intelligent civilizations got a chance to build a free tech to better the lives of their citizenry.
And two of them promptly opted for a nice and shiny WMD called "graviton rocket of doom"
The beautifull uberdice-cannon developed by No 3 was looked down upon with pity and laughter.

So here we were at turn 3 or so and all went downhill, soon our beautiful 2-dimensional universe was reduced to mostly empty space. Player 3 built lots of bacteriological rockets and started to destroy all that was achieved, we responded with even more graviton rockets and as you can expect, if we had one more round, there would've been nothing left but empty space and 3 magically resistant homeworlds. (deus ex machina anybody?)

So my questions and remarks:

- Is it normal that you can buy the biggest techs so soon? (talking turn 2 or 3)

- Is it normal that players can get like 50 cp in the first few turns?