Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Archon: Glory & Machination» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule\Counters Clarifications Needed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marco Grillini
Italy
Bologna
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello, we have had a few matches with the game and found it very amusing. Luckily we have not had the color identification problems others have encountered perhaps thanks to the fact that I use a white\cold kind of light. But, for the moment, we have a pair of unclear things about the game.
1) Tax Collector - If a player does not have the money to pay the player(s) with tax collector(s) in the same building, can enter the building anyway or cannot? (we ruled for "cannot" since the rule use the "must pay" formula).
2) House of Trade - Seems to exist a contraddiction between the explaining text of the building and the picture itself. The picture depicts a +1\-1 and seems to suggest that you obtain +1 when selling and get a -1 when buying; the text instead tells that you pay just 1 for buying whatever resource and obtain +1 when selling. (we ruled for the picture because we deemed was more game-equilibrate. This means the owner of the building could obtain the first two resources for free just like the repository)
I'm hoping for an official answer, but any comment is welcome. Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wyckyd
Netherlands
Groningen
Groningen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) If you cant pay the tax collector, you cant enter the building.
2) The designer admitted somewhere that the word 'less' is missing from the rules: you play the House of Trades as you did, by receiving more when selling and paying less when buying.
5 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sotiris Tsantilas
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Marco,

As Wyckyd said, you ruled correctly in both cases.

Happy holidays!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Grillini
Italy
Bologna
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to both of you! And good gaming for 2014.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.