Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Pandemic: In the Lab» Forums » Rules

Subject: Roles, Cures, and the Lab Challenge rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jerry Turner
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
After playing several games using the lab variant, I have a few questions:

1. Can players opt to not use their role's powers? For instance, if a player is in a situation where they need cubes of an already-cured disease, and they are playing the Medic, can they "turn off" the passive cure and spend actions to treat (and therefore place cubes in the lab)?

2. In a similar vein, can the Quarantine Specialist opt to "turn off" her quarantine ability and allow disease cubes to be placed anyway? This came up when a player used the Quarantine Specialist to treat and collect samples, but prevented vital cubes from being placed.

3. If a cure for a disease is discovered, do players have to treat all of the cubes with one action, or is this optional? In other words, could a player "inefficiently" treat three disease cubes with three actions, taking all of them into the lab?

All of these questions stem from a normally-beneficial player power having negative consequences when paired with the lab scenario. The question at the core is this: can players disregard role powers when they are detrimental, or are these interactions an intended part of the lab challenge?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Lehmann
United States
Palo Alto
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmb
Jerricho wrote:
1. Can players opt to not use their role's powers? For instance, if a player is [...] playing the Medic, can they "turn off" the passive cure and spend actions to treat (and therefore place cubes in the lab)?

No.

Quote:
2. In a similar vein, can the Quarantine Specialist opt to "turn off" her quarantine ability and allow disease cubes to be placed anyway?

No.

Quote:
3. If a cure for a disease is discovered, do players have to treat all of the cubes with one action?

Yes.

Quote:
can players disregard role powers when they are detrimental

No.

This is not something unique to the Lab challenge. For example, in the regular game players sometimes want to turn off the CS, QS, or Medic abilities to preserve disease cubes for the Field Operative or to enable better use of the event Rapid Vaccine Treatment.

Matt and I made the decision to not allow this to avoid adding lots of extra decisions and rules overhead.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Turner
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you for the clarification! That will definitely make us think more carefully about *who* does what, and timing, especially with the lab challenge.

I appreciate how active and helpful you and Matt are on the forums.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.