Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

King of Tokyo» Forums » Rules

Subject: mimic and discardable cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pasta Batman
United States
Tustin
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Noob question here. Mimic (a 'keep' card) says:
Quote:
"Choose a card any monster has in play and put a mimic counter on it. This card counts as a duplicate of that card as if it just had been bought. Spend 1 energy cube at the start of your turn to change the power you are mimicking."

Suppose the Mimic counter is placed on a discardable card, and the owner uses it during the same turn. On the Mimic player's next turn, can he pay an energy cube to return his counter to that same card and use it again? That seems extremely powerful, as the Mimic player can simply pay one cube over and over to use an expensive discardable card. We ruled in our game last night that Mimic could not re-use a discardable card, but this seems counter to how the rules are written, and relies on player's memories too much. Am I missing something here?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hall
United Kingdom
Hemel Hempstead
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Am I missing something here?


In a word - Yes.

Discard cards are played as soon as they are bought, they are not kept by a player to use at a future time.

Edit: A discard card is bought and used straight away, then discarded, so you would not be able to place a mimic token on it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasta Batman
United States
Tustin
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
chrishall20 wrote:
Quote:
Am I missing something here?


In a word - Yes.

Discard cards are played as soon as they are bought, they are not kept by a player to use at a future time.

Edit: A discard card is bought and used straight away, then discarded, so you would not be able to place a mimic token on it.

Doh! Thanks, that clears it up completely.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hall
United Kingdom
Hemel Hempstead
Hertfordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No worries, glad I could help.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clark Taynton
United States
Goleta
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wait a sec, it almost clears it up. What about a card like plot twist that is kept until used and then discarded. Does using mimic discard the other players card or could one keep mimicking the card for one energy each time until the other player uses plot twist?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grarrrg Grarrrgowski
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ctaynton wrote:
Wait a sec, it almost clears it up. What about a card like plot twist that is kept until used and then discarded. Does using mimic discard the other players card or could one keep mimicking the card for one energy each time until the other player uses plot twist?


Presumably since Mimic is a Copy of that card, you would have to discard the Mimic card to use it.
So Mimic would be gone.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonah Rees
Wales
Cardiff
South Wales
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
grarrrg wrote:
ctaynton wrote:
Wait a sec, it almost clears it up. What about a card like plot twist that is kept until used and then discarded. Does using mimic discard the other players card or could one keep mimicking the card for one energy each time until the other player uses plot twist?


Presumably since Mimic is a Copy of that card, you would have to discard the Mimic card to use it.
So Mimic would be gone.


I don't think you'd lose Mimic. But you wouldn't really be able to benefit from mimicking a card such as that so don't see the point!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ctaynton wrote:
What about a card like plot twist that is kept until used and then discarded. Does using mimic discard the other players card or could one keep mimicking the card for one energy each time until the other player uses plot twist?

If a card you mimic is used and gets discarded, you get the Mimic token back and can place it again on your own turn. I'm sure this is explained in the FAQ or even in the rules.

If you mimic a one-shot card, I would rule that the mimic card gets discarded if you evoke the power of the mimicked card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Williams
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
How is it possible to mimic a discard card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can't mimic a Discard card. But you can mimic a Keep card that has a single-use action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sin Sam
msg tools
pastabatman wrote:
Noob question here. Mimic (a 'keep' card) says:
Quote:
"Choose a card any monster has in play and put a mimic counter on it. This card counts as a duplicate of that card as if it just had been bought. Spend 1 energy cube at the start of your turn to change the power you are mimicking."

Suppose the Mimic counter is placed on a discardable card, and the owner uses it during the same turn. On the Mimic player's next turn, can he pay an energy cube to return his counter to that same card and use it again? That seems extremely powerful, as the Mimic player can simply pay one cube over and over to use an expensive discardable card. We ruled in our game last night that Mimic could not re-use a discardable card, but this seems counter to how the rules are written, and relies on player's memories too much. Am I missing something here?


Discard Cards aren't held in your hand, and therefore aren't duplicable. For discardable Keep cards, you said it yourself: Mimic counts as a duplicate. An exact duplicate, with the caveats that it has a cost of 8E for the purposes of Parasitic Tentacles or Metamorph, and that you can change the power for 1 energy at the start of your turn.

If you mimic Plot Twist, Mimic becomes Plot Twist. If you use Mimic Twist, you change one die, then discard, exactly like the card were Plot Twist. Whenever you are using Mimic Twist, it is not the "start of your turn," so it'd be discarded before you even have the opportunity to change it to another power. Even if you found some way to use Mimic Twist during the "start of turn" phase, it'd still be a different action than changing Mimic.

Same thing would happen if you mimic Psychic Probe to get two forced rerolls-per-turn, and you roll a Heart. Mimic Probe gets discarded, unless you have both cards and manage to convince your group that the Heart was rolled while you were tapping the original Psychic Probe. If it were my table and you had both, you'd probably have to physically touch one card when forcing a reroll, then touch the other if you force a second reroll, just so we'd know which was being used. If one gets the heart, though, you might be able to use the other to reroll that heart and avoid discarding any of them, maybe. That's something you'd have to discuss with your table, though, unless there's an official ruling somewhere.

If you mimic Monster Batteries and let the energy on Mimic Battery run out, you'd have to discard it. If you change Mimic to another card (or even re-mimic Monster Batteries again) before you remove the last two Energy from Mimic Battery, you'd lose the remaining Energy on the card, since the card has to be active to dispense it to you. That's at least a loss of 2E return, and 1E to force the change before discard, and probably 1E to mimic it in the first place. I think that's more expensive than the original Monster Battery. Also remember that if the card you are mimicing is removed from play, Mimic gets immediately blanked. If you mimic Monster Batteries, keep in mind the initial investment on the actual card when making your own investment on Mimic Battery, or else you might lose that Mimic investment when the actual Monster Battery runs out. Monster Battery needs, 3E investment and 3 turns to get get a profit of 1E. Mimic Battery is harder to get a ROI with. It needs at least 4E or 5E (and 3 or 4 turns, respectively) to get a profit of 1E and still keep Mimic.

Smoke Cloud, though, has potential. If you mimic Smoke Cloud, you'd get three Smoke counters on Mimic Cloud. You could use two, then, at the start of your next turn, re-assign Mimic to another card or even to Smoke Cloud again. You'd basically be getting up to extra two rerolls per turn for 1E per turn, until the original Smoke Cloud is depleted. That card combo is twice as efficient as Telepath, and you don't even really have to own the Smoke Cloud card yourself. It may be better to mimic Giant Brain if you are low on Energy, though, since that only costs the initial investment.

If you control both Smoke Cloud and Mimic though, you could keep this up forever. You could also get three rerolls per turn two times, or four rerolls per turn once, and still keep getting the two-rerolls per turn in future turns. You could also get six rerolls in a single turn at the cost of both cards, or five rerolls in one turn and keep Mimic. However, if all of your Mimic Cloud tokens are removed, Mimic still gets discarded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.