Recommend
8 
 Thumb up
 Hide
16 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » General

Subject: Where can I Find a Writen Tutorial rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tyrone Newby
Canada
Tupperville
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Where can I find a writen tutorial of The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43, there so much easier to follow than a video.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
. .

Apex
North Carolina
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Not sure if I know of one that's out there, but I'd highly recommend reading through the charts to get a feel for which charts exist before reading the rules. It'll make everything make much more sense as you read through the rules. The game is also presented in a way that the rules do a great job of mimicking. You can effectively play your first game while reading through the rulebook.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here's something I wrote up previously:


EXAMPLE OF PLAY
Keeping track of your game play is somewhat akin to scoring a baseball game - there's really no wrong way to do it, as long as you are able to somehow record the events that occur during a patrol and be able to later reconstruct what occurred.
John decides to take a Type IXC out for a career, naming it the U-99. Because this boat is not available until 5/41, his career starts in May 1941. He rolls two dice (notice the 2d6 in bold at the top of the chart) which gives him a "10" on chart A1. This sends him to the West African Coast for his first patrol. He writes "West African Coast" on the first May 41 column of his Patrol Log, and begins.
He moves his U-Boat marker from the "At Port" box to the first travel box in the West African Patrol Track on his Type IXC chart. His first transit box is actually the "Bay of Biscay" since the date is past 6/40, so he rolls on the "Bay of Biscay/Spec. Missions part of chart A3. (This box is used for Bay of Biscay transit or for those times a boat is executing a special mission.) Since he rolls a "5" he barely misses getting an aircraft result, and breathes a sigh of relief. The patrol continues to the next travel box. He rolls a "9" on the regular Transit section of chart A3, which again results in "no effect." So far, no contact. He still has one more transit box to go before arriving at the West African Coast. He moves his boat forward into the final outbound Transit box. Unfortunately, he rolls a "3" which results in an Aircraft encounter. Because he has chosen the relatively slow-diving Type IX, he receives a -1 to his dice roll on Chart A4. His roll of "7" is adjusted down to a "6" which results in "Crash Dive." This means his lookouts have spotted the aircraft in time and a successful crash dive occurs. The encounter for this travel box is ended at this point.
Now John moves his boat one box further, into the first box labeled "West African Coast." He is now on station, and rolls for encounters on the West African section of chart A3. His first roll is a "8" which is no effect (no contacts.) He moves his U-Boat to the next travel box, which is again "West African Coast." He now rolls a "9" which results in a "Ship+Escort."
Finally, a contact! John rolls a "3" on a single die for the day/night time, indicating it is day. A second roll of "4" means he has a Large Target. He then rolls 2d10 on chart T2, and the result of "42" gives the target ship as the "Zealandic," a 10,600 ton ship. He writes "10,600" in the first box to the right of "West African Coast" on the May 1941 row, as this is the first target this patrol. Since this is a fairly large target, John decides not to risk shadowing the ship until nighttime, even though he has T7a steam torpedoes loaded in his front tubes. Due to its size, this ship takes 4 hits to sink, so John decides he needs to fire all 4 of his front tubes in a daylight submerged attack. He also decides to attack from medium range, to maximize his chances of escape after his attack. (He could have tried to come to close range, but if detected first by the escorts, he would not get to attack at all, plus, they already get two + modifiers against him on chart B3....he's using steam torpedoes during the day, and a +1 for the year 1941.)
Firing all four torpedoes, John rolls a "7, 9, 6, 4". All are hits except the "9" which is a miss. (Looking at table B1, we see he needed to roll at "7" or lower to hit.) Now he rolls again for dud torpedoes. Fortunately, this is 1941, and they are only duds on a roll of "1". Still, he rolls three times getting a "3, 1, 5" indicating that one of the torpedoes was, in fact, a dud.
With only two actual hits that weren't duds, he rolls twice for damage on chart B2. He rolls a "2, 6" which means the first torpedo hit for 3 damage, and the second hit for 1 damage. This, fortunately, is exactly what he needs to sink the Zealandic. He then indicates he sank the ship on his patrol log and now rolls the escort attack against him.
The escorts roll on chart B3, with a +2 modifier for year and steam torpedo usage in the day. This roll is a "8" which is modified up to a "10" - the U-99 has been detected! He now rolls 2d6 on chart B4, to see how much damage is done. A roll of "8" again results in 2 hits. Now moving to chart B5, he rolls two dice, but the color die is first, THEN the white die. They are not totaled, but read consecutively, so that the color 3 and a white 4 is "3-4" on the chart, a crew injury. Moving to table B8, a roll of "10" indicates the 2WO was injured, and a second roll of "3" indicates a light wound.
The second hit is rolled as a "6-6" which results in the fuel tank being hit. John places a "DMG" marker on it, indicating it has been damaged. Now that all hits have been resolved, the escorts repeat this process as long as they continue to receive a "detected" result on chart B3. Essentially, you are in a depth-charge loop, until you can roll low enough to escape detection and sneak away.
Unfortunately for John, his current modifier to be detected is +4. The escorts get +1 for 1941, +1 for previous detection, +1 for steam torpedoes in the day, and +1 for the leaking fuel tanks. In effect, John has to roll an unmodified "4" or higher to get away at this point, and it can only get worse with additional damage. He decides to exceed test depth, taking a point of hull damage, which gives him a -1 modifier to the detection dice roll. He passes his implosion roll, and then rolls for detection at +3 instead of +4. This works out, as John luckily rolls a "5" and just barely sneaks off, with one ship sunk to his credit (and, therefore, credit for a "successful" patrol.)
This ends the combat for this travel box. John now has to roll to fix his fuel tanks. He rolls a "4" on chart B8, which means he cannot effect repairs at sea in this case. He now must abort back to base per the rules. John now moves the U-99 to the closest transit box on the track. He has no encounters in this or the next transit box. He is now in the final transit box, which is actually a "Bay of Biscay" travel box. He rolls a "4" and to his dismay finds himself once again attacked by aircraft. Rolling again on chart A4, he rolls a "6" but unfortunately because he is a slow-diving boat, this is modified to a "5" and now he is in combat with the aircraft. Because combat occurs, John gets to fire his flak guns, which is simultaneous with the aircraft's attack. However it is important to try to at least damage it, so it doesn't stay above the U-Boat and shadow it, potentially calling in other aircraft or ships. John's flak roll on chart A2 is a "5" which becomes a "4" because he is a Type IX with both flak guns currently working. This damages the aircraft, which will force it to leave after its attack.
The aircraft starts with a crew injury hit - this is above and beyond any damage that gets rolled. A roll of "7" followed by a "4" indicates a generic crewman box has been severely wounded. Now for the attack itself....John rolls a natural "11" which is modified to a "13" because of the attack is made by an aircraft. This sinks the U-99.


-Greg Smith
Game Designer
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Case
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You forgot the last part!...

John pounds his fist on the table in disbelief at being sunk so close to safety. John gets up out of his chair to go to bed for the night. John sighs tiredly and drops back into his chair, preparing a new patrol log. Just ONE more patrol...
John continues the cycle of addiction.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
First off: "writen"? whistle

Next up, there are several AARs here on BGG. Perhaps read one of those and follow along?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Case
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
First off: yes, he said "written" Obviously just a typo.

Next up, the game's designer doesn't seem to mind...so, how about you cut the guy some slack, Martin?whistle
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Von Sock
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Greg,

Thank you so much for posting this write-up. I seriously was holding my breath the entire time I read that. I am so damn excited to get The Hunters in the mail today and can't wait to do the Fatherland proud...or sink my crew trying!

- Barret
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
SingleHandedWarfare wrote:
First off: yes, he said "written" Obviously just a typo.

Next up, the game's designer doesn't seem to mind...so, how about you cut the guy some slack, Martin?whistle
Sorry my attempt at humor rattled your cage.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek Case
United States
Manteca
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
martimer wrote:
SingleHandedWarfare wrote:
First off: yes, he said "written" Obviously just a typo.

Next up, the game's designer doesn't seem to mind...so, how about you cut the guy some slack, Martin?whistle
Sorry my attempt at humor rattled your cage.

The constant depth charging has my nerves a little frayed
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone Newby
Canada
Tupperville
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good write up Greg,it helps to follow along in your game of examples and somewhat learn the game---though I must admit the rules are quite staraight forward and easy to understand,except for "Resupply at Sea" in 14.9.5 If resupply occurs add one month to the Refit period for that patrol(which actually represents additional time at sea..auh?#!?*#?---does that mean you get one more month in your current sea area(you do not have to go back to port),or what?
Anyway,I just completed my first patrol with (VIIC)U-72:I printed out this boats emblem(and many others) from uboat.net;I mounted the emblems on heavy cardstock,and I place the emblem of the U-Boat I'm using on the place mat next to the U-Boat's pic on the card,it gives a little extra pride in your ship and character.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kranz
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, Tyrone. What you will want to do is instead of having at least one month for refit (by default), it will be two months for refit to mark the passage of time out at sea. You can just write-in another "R" for the second row on the U-Boat Patrol log. I hope this clears it up!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Tyrone,

Yes, resupply at sea does, in fact, mean you get extra time in the current patrol area you are in.

So...if you at the last box of the British Isles....you get resupplied at sea, some fuel and perhaps a few torpedoes....you then move your marker BACK to the first "British Isles" box on the patrol track. You don't return to port....you stay out longer on this current patrol. (Basically, you're getting 4 more British Isles patrol boxes to roll in, before you have to transit home.)

But this costs you an extra month, so you write a "P" below the current patrol month (or, if you're in a Type IX, you already should have a "P" written below your patrol month....so you write ANOTHER "P" in below the one you already have). This represents the extra time at sea, which is because you got more fuel from the resupply.

Hope that makes more sense,
Greg
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Von Sock
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sturmer wrote:
if you're in a Type IX, you already should have a "P" written below your patrol month


Thanks for mentioning this! I must have glossed over this in the manual. Began my physical VII campaign at home last night and started a IX campaign on Vassal today (slow work day). I was in the middle of my second patrol when I read this! Luckily saw it before I'd gone too far hah.

Thank you for a fantastic game and an engrossing experience.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vonsockthroat wrote:
Sturmer wrote:
if you're in a Type IX, you already should have a "P" written below your patrol month


Thanks for mentioning this! I must have glossed over this in the manual. Began my physical VII campaign at home last night and started a IX campaign on Vassal today (slow work day). I was in the middle of my second patrol when I read this! Luckily saw it before I'd gone too far hah.

Thank you for a fantastic game and an engrossing experience.



Well, thank you for your kind words! Having people enjoy the game is my main payment, actually. So spread the word. We shall convert all wargamers, one U-Boat at a time!


Greg
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone ..................
United States
Salt Lake City
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, I've been converted. I've never played a war themed board game before. I was a huge fan of the Silent Hunter series on the computer though until the internet connection requirement but once I heard about this and watched the web instruction videos I immediately bought it. Awesome work Greg.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kranz
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for your purchase, Tyrone. I hope you enjoy the narrative you will experience as you play the game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.