Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Mice and Mystics» Forums » Rules

Subject: roach defense roll vs dagger, and second surge on a tile rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A couple of questions:

1) When the dagger is used against a minion lower on the initiative track that normally rolls one defense die (e.g. a roach), does that minion not roll to defend at all? (We played that they got no roll.)

2) On a tile where a surge already happened, we defeated the final minion - but he rolled one cheese in his final defense, completing the minion cheese wheel. Since there had already been a surge, no more minions came out. And since the wheel was full, we emptied it. It felt a little like cheating to clear it, but I guess the hourglass moves one page closer to the end of the chapter, so we still paid for the filling of the wheel. Did we play this correctly?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And as a follow-up to the second question: In chapter one, we were still on page one, with four or five cheese on the minion cheese wheel, when we opted to go for the side plot in the kitchen. Being at that point on the wheel pretty much guaranteed that we would get a surge - which in that room is Brodie. Now suppose there had been a surge while we were in the kitchen tunnels, so we knew that filling the wheel before moving on would push the page marker but not introduce any more minions. Would it have been a valid strategy to pass time with searching, recovering, etc. to make that happen, clearing the wheel and making a surge less likely to happen when we got into the kitchen?

(edit: spelling)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Bowker
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whangdoodle wrote:
1) When the dagger is used against a minion lower on the initiative track that normally rolls one defense die (e.g. a roach), does that minion not roll to defend at all? (We played that they got no roll.)

Correct, no defense for filthy roaches

Whangdoodle wrote:
2) On a tile where a surge already happened, we defeated the final minion - but he rolled one cheese in his final defense, completing the minion cheese wheel. Since there had already been a surge, no more minions came out. And since the wheel was full, we emptied it. It felt a little like cheating to clear it, but I guess the hourglass moves one page closer to the end of the chapter, so we still paid for the filling of the wheel. Did we play this correctly?

Yep, that's how it works. Unfortunately I've found it allows you to "game the system" a little bit exactly as you've found with your Brodie situation. But alternatively, surging minions every time would increase the difficulty on some scenarios a bit too much.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Grawan
Germany
Lehrte
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Yep, that's how it works. Unfortunately I've found it allows you to "game the system" a little bit exactly as you've found with your Brodie situation. But alternatively, surging minions every time would increase the difficulty on some scenarios a bit too much.
There's only one single possible surge while the mice are on a tile?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gastel Etswane
Canada
Peterborough
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
proclaimed wrote:
Whangdoodle wrote:
1) When the dagger is used against a minion lower on the initiative track that normally rolls one defense die (e.g. a roach), does that minion not roll to defend at all? (We played that they got no roll.)

Correct, no defense for filthy roaches
But what about if they can roll a cheese. They have no defense, so they are going to perish, but they can still roll cheese.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Greg
United States
Lowell
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rashktah wrote:
Quote:
Yep, that's how it works. Unfortunately I've found it allows you to "game the system" a little bit exactly as you've found with your Brodie situation. But alternatively, surging minions every time would increase the difficulty on some scenarios a bit too much.
There's only one single possible surge while the mice are on a tile?


One surge per tile. But if the cheese wheel fills up a second time on that tile, you still have to move the hourglass up one page. So whether it's a surge from an encounter card or a special surge from the chapter book, you only have to deal with one of them.

Gastel Etswane wrote:

But what about if they can roll a cheese. They have no defense, so they are going to perish, but they can still roll cheese.


You roll the number of dice equal to the defense value. If the defense value is reduced to 0, then you don't roll defense dice and can't roll cheese.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Schmitt
United States
South Portland
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers everyone.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.