Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: Rise of the Runelords – Base Set» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attack of the Sirens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Olav Müller
Germany
Düsseldorf
Deutschland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hiho,

it's probably obvious to anyone else, but I am not sure: Is the fight against the Siren a "Wisdom-based Combat Check" or a "Wisdom Check"? The Siren says "Check to Defeat: Wisdom".

Escpecially the example on pg 11 of the current rule book make me wonder:

Quote:
... if a
card says “Wisdom 10 or Combat 13 then Combat 15,” you must first
attempt either a Wisdom check with a difficulty of 10 or a Combat
check with a difficulty of 13, and then attempt a Combat check with a
difficulty of 15.


The question behind the question: Can I use "Blessing of Shelyn" (+2 dice to a non-combat Wisdom check) in the fight against the Siren? (I understand that I can't use that power when I fight another "combat"-monster with my Devine spells.)

Thanks,
Olav
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Enden
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only checks that say "Combat" are combat checks. So, the check against the Siren is a noncombat Wisdom check. You can use Blessing of Shelyn.

EDIT: Spelling.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Wood
United States
Grapevine
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
also re read your example, it is different situation.

Quote:
if a
card says “Wisdom 10 or Combat 13 then Combat 15,” you must first
attempt either a Wisdom check with a difficulty of 10 or a Combat
check with a difficulty of 13, and then attempt a Combat check with a
difficulty of 15.


This example is one for 2 checks, the first wisdom or combat and the second combat.

Siren is wisdom only
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Müller
Germany
Düsseldorf
Deutschland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Taloncarde wrote:
also re read your example, it is different situate.
... Siren is wisdom only


I think I know that. It was just the line that jumped at me, when I read about Combat checks and checks to Defeat a Bane again. This line introduced me to the idea, that a check against a monster could be something other than a combat check.

Then I met the Siren in Sandpoint.

Thanks,
Olav
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D P
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, just to clarify something that's come up related to this.

If a monster has a check to defeat other than Combat, if you fail the check, you still take damage and it IS Combat Damage unless the card says otherwise.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.