Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Catan: Traders & Barbarians» Forums » Rules

Subject: Caravans - voting procedures rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tom Fowler
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Can anyone please expand and clarify the voting stage of camel placement in the caravans scenario of the Traders and Barbarians expansion pack. I'm finding the rules a little ambiguous. Thanks in advance
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sebastian Rapp
Germany
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Where exactly is the problem?

If settlements/cities are built in a player's turn, between his and the next player's turn, a camel will be placed.
Where the camel is placed, is decided by a voting.

The player, whose turn it was, starts.
He displays as many wool and/or wheat cards before him. This cards will be spent, no matter what happens.
Then in clockwise order, all players have the chance to play wool/wheat cards in the same way.
There is only on bidding round, so each player can only display cards once.

Each displayed card is worth 1 vote. If one player has an absolute majority, he decides where the camel is placed.
If there is no absolute majority, players negotiate in order to have a majority of votes and decide together, where the camel will be placed. If there is no agreement between the players, the player with the single most displayed cards decides. If there is no such player, the player whose turn it was decides.

The main problem of this might be, that it is not actually a voting. Think about the procedure of buying votes. Each wool/wheat that you spend buys you 1 vote.
A vote may be worth nothing, if the other players buy more votes, but if you don't buy at least one vote, you will not be part of any negotiations.

Hope that clears things up.

Sebastian Rapp / Kosmos






3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo Salinas
msg tools
"If there is no “most votes” player, the player who just finished his turn chooses where to place the camel (even if he has no votes)."

But, can this player choose any place? Or must this player choose among the places have been voted before?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.