Subject: BattleSnails rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charles Watson
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Good day gamers!

Hi! My name is Tad. I am a secondary Math teacher at a Governor's School who likes to play games and study game theory, and recently I have become an independent game developer. I have created a game, Battlegrounds, designed to be simple, quick, 2 player, and fun. After selling a few copies locally, I have been advised by many friends to have the game published, and so I am writing to receive advice regarding how to publish Battlegrounds. Do you have any helpful recommendations for me?

Respectfully,
Tad

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bohm
United States
Appleton
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
So to clarify, you're looking for advice on how to get your game published and not on the game itself.

Usually steps 1-5 include making sure you playtest the base game enough where you feel the rules are solid and then finalizing artwork, possibly with a commissioned artist right here on this site.

Once you've done that, find a print company who will create demos. Creating the demo first is important, it will give you something tactile to take with you to conventions or as a marketing tool (as well as pictures for a website if you so choose) but it will also give you something to visually size up and with it a price point.

From there, you budget. If I print X copies, it will cost me Y. Can I afford that? How much do I need to sell the game for to make profit? Remember that if you are printing your own, you take your own risk so you might want to start small. The flip side of that is that usually the more you print, the cheaper the end product ends up being.