Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Dreamblade» Forums » Rules

Subject: Clarification on ferocity and deathblow rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Junior Chuang
Canada
flag msg tools
Got a question about using the ferocity ability. It says when the creature is disrupted, destroy it instead. Does that mean the creature is moved first and then the ability triggers to destroy it (and hence no deathblow if going first) or does it simply replace disrupt with destroy? I think the cpu version allows no deathblow but working would suggest otherwise.

Thanks in advance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's been a while, but I'm pretty certain you don't disrupt, you just destroy.
After all, it says "instead".
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Stoker
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ahhh...Dreamblade.

Sigh.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Van den Broeck
Belgium
Zwijndrecht
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not sure because I also started playing after the support of wizards was long gone, but we play it with deathblow.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Sturk
United States
Hudson
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ferocity is a "replacement effect" I believe, so instead of disrupting, you destroy. So, no movement to another cell.

As far as deathblow, it should be handled just as if it was destroyed outright, i.e. if in combat and it is 2nd player's action phase.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TPoG
Denmark
flag msg tools
ISBN: 1-85723-146-5
badge
Hmm...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I suppose you mean deathblow is triggered if it is 1st players action phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Beiter
United States
Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is an outright destruction. No disruption.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tobias
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So there should be a deathblow, according to my rules interpretation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Sturk
United States
Hudson
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Player of Games wrote:
I suppose you mean deathblow is triggered if it is 1st players action phase.


Yes, my mistake. In 1st player's action phase, 2nd player chooses deathblow or not for his destroyed creatures
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Sturk
United States
Hudson
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JuniorC wrote:
Got a question about using the ferocity ability. It says when the creature is disrupted, destroy it instead. Does that mean the creature is moved first and then the ability triggers to destroy it (and hence no deathblow if going first) or does it simply replace disrupt with destroy? I think the cpu version allows no deathblow but working would suggest otherwise.

Thanks in advance.


The computer version was outright destroying as if not in combat instead of marking as destroyed (which would allow for deathblows, etc). That bug was fixed recently and will be in the next version.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.