Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

A Distant Plain» Forums » Rules

Subject: sponsorship and hardened posture rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Kouba

Minnesota
msg tools
mbmb
If a card says to move the Islamabad track "2 spaces towards Sponsorship", but the track is already at Backing, do you move it one space to Sponsorship and then flip the counter to Hard?

Or, just move to Sponsorship and that's it (you don't flip the counter to Hard)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
It's just a ride...
England
Bury St Edmunds
Suffolk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
jkouba wrote:
If a card says to move the Islamabad track "2 spaces towards Sponsorship", but the track is already at Backing, do you move it one space to Sponsorship and then flip the counter to Hard?


Yes.
6 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Butler
United States
Fort Walton Beach
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
jkouba wrote:
If a card says to move the Islamabad track "2 spaces towards Sponsorship", but the track is already at Backing, do you move it one space to Sponsorship and then flip the counter to Hard?

Or, just move to Sponsorship and that's it (you don't flip the counter to Hard)?


This would also happen if you moved it all the way to the other end, plus one more movement in that direction.

That said, something I learned recently -- "Hard" flips to "Soft" only for Propaganda phase movement. If the marker moves at some other point, the rules say to keep it "Hard" but shift the marker. See Rules section 6.6.1 in its entirety, and in particular the note:

Quote:

NOTE: The marker at Hard shifts normally, except during Reset.


So it is possible to have the marker at Hard but in the middle of the Islamabad track, for example.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Guttag
United States
West Chester
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jeff,

Sam's answer is correct, and very complete. In fact, it reminds me that the "hard" posture is in play not just at the Sponsorship (right) end of the Islamabad track, but also at the Hostility (left) end of that track. In fact, pushing the Islamabad track to a "hard" posture at the left end means the Taliban is faced (most likely through 2 Propaganda Rounds) with no ability to Rally in Pakistan, as well as with all its Guerillas in those spaces constantly Active which makes them vulnerable to Air Strikes (especially if the Coalition has the Predator capability which negates the adverse Islamabad effect) and makes March Ops from Pakistan problematical, even into Pashtun spaces (unless the Taliban get the capability to March their Guerillas into Pashtun spaces Underground). Also, unless the Taliban can execute Events in Cards with contravening moves towards Sponsorship, the Taliban's Rally Op ability is greatly affected, both in where it can Rally (not in Pakistan if at or left of Pressure), and Resource cost (at or left of Tolerance).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.