Chris McGuire
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey all, I'm posting this in the Daybreak forum simply because it's the latest expansion, but this question is meant to cover if you're using all the expansions. Or, at least, if you're using whichever expansion the Build Nuke Engineering card came in.

It seems like I remember reading somewhere that once a nuke token was used up it was gone, but I may be completely making that up. Is there any rule related to that? Such as, once you use a nuke token you remove it from the game? Or once you use the Build Nuke card you remove it from the game? Or could you actually just keep rebuilding nukes indefinitely?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ardrikk wrote:
Hey all, I'm posting this in the Daybreak forum simply because it's the latest expansion, but this question is meant to cover if you're using all the expansions. Or, at least, if you're using whichever expansion the Build Nuke Engineering card came in.

It seems like I remember reading somewhere that once a nuke token was used up it was gone, but I may be completely making that up. Is there any rule related to that? Such as, once you use a nuke token you remove it from the game? Or once you use the Build Nuke card you remove it from the game? Or could you actually just keep rebuilding nukes indefinitely?


Yes, you can keep replaying Build Nuke over and over.. except when the Mutiny card (whose name escapes me) removes all nuke tokens from the game. After that, you can not build new ones.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pasi Ojala
Finland
Tampere
flag msg tools
Get the Imperial Assault Campaign module for Vassal from http://www.vassalengine.org/wiki/Module:Star_Wars:_Imperial_Assault
badge
The next Total Solar Eclipse holiday in 2024 in USA? See you there!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is an extra nuke token to allow 3 simultaneous ones, I think it is a fair natural limit. After using up one you can build the next one. In reality, why would you even want to have more than 3 at the same time?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Loke
Canada
Richmond
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
BUT MY DREAMS THEY AREN'T AS EMPTY
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
By the way, interesting official ruling here:

Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)

Quote:
13. Unauthorized Usage plus Build Nuke: You can regain a nuke token this way.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
schmloof wrote:
By the way, interesting official ruling here:

Daybreak Unofficial FAQ (was: Questions we want answered)

Quote:
13. Unauthorized Usage plus Build Nuke: You can regain a nuke token this way.



Oh, I stand corrected.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mindy G
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Mold the chaos into something beautiful
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stupidest ruling ever. yuk
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
oriecat wrote:
Stupidest ruling ever. yuk

Seriously?

What about being sent to Sickbay as a way of getting out of the Brig?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JasX X
United Kingdom
London, UK
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Actually I believe the exact text on the Admiral action card is

"ACTION: Launch 1 nuke at a space area (the nuke token is discarded)"

So no remove from game and nothing to prevent it being redrawn with the blue 6 card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mindy G
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Mold the chaos into something beautiful
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rmsgrey wrote:
oriecat wrote:
Stupidest ruling ever. yuk

Seriously?

What about being sent to Sickbay as a way of getting out of the Brig?


You can't get out of the Brig by being sent to Sickbay.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wright
Australia
Melbourne
Victoria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oriecat wrote:
rmsgrey wrote:
oriecat wrote:
Stupidest ruling ever. yuk

Seriously?

What about being sent to Sickbay as a way of getting out of the Brig?


You can't get out of the Brig by being sent to Sickbay.


Not anymore, but you could in the first version of the FAQ.

Vipers and raptors are also "removed from the game" when destroyed (base game rulebook, p24) but can come back, so at least the nukes ruling is consistent with that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.