Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: Encounters and convoys rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roland D
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
After yesterdays patrol through the Atlantic, a question came up to me:

Is there any restriction on how much encounters of convoys you can have?
Patrol Box 1 was a convoy, rolled the same for the 2nd one and the 3rd and 4th ...

Seems somehow strange to me ...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Wedge
United Kingdom
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No.

Why is it strange? It could be you under orders to shadow the same convoy, it could be a completely different convoy.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roland D
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you Sir.

Gamewise it makes sense to me. Maybe the same convoy or another one from the opposite side.

Just thought, maybe I´m wrong, not enough columns on the log ...
Plus my infamous luck on dices gulp
Plus scarred by SW
... modest
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Craig H
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is a game, dice are fickle. But that confluence of targets could happen! Depends on your position in the shipping lanes, a lot of ways to realistically explain that occurence. How did you do against those escorts? What year? Fill us in man!!!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Smith
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Roland,

If you run out of columns in the current month to record ship sizes (due to all the convoys) remember, because of the refit month, you can use the next month down to record potential targets.

I hope that makes sense,

Greg

PS. You could have run into a convoy, then got re-vectored onto it....or perhaps then hit a new convoy going the other way. There's lots of possible ways you could have an embarrassment of targets. It happens. Not all the time though

Greg
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kranz
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, and what I do on my log is I only jot down the target ships I'm actually engaging in combat. So if I run into a convoy, usually one 1-2 ships out of the 4 end up getting written up on my log. I then have the next row that can be used since it will always be blank due to Refit.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
consimworld wrote:
Yes, and what I do on my log is I only jot down the target ships I'm actually engaging in combat. So if I run into a convoy, usually one 1-2 ships out of the 4 end up getting written up on my log. I then have the next row that can be used since it will always be blank due to Refit.


Unless you write the targeted ships name in that box... As I have done. Though I have yet to have that many ships where I need a second line. Almost once, but I lost the convoy on the next roll. Guess I'll be erasing the names then!!! lol

Jim cool
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roland D
Austria
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to all for your replies!

'Luckily' the patrol before was a complete failure and I had enough space ...

John, so you keep all 4 ships in mind, and just write down your attacked ones ... sounds like good mind training

btw only 3 ships were sunk of these 16.
But yes, makes completely sense, skipper is trying to keep contact on the convoy, angle and position of the boat changes during the days until now torp attack can be done.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.