Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Cuba Libre» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card #26 question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Willner
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The card calls for the player to place a guerrilla and then follow up with some operations. What happens if there are no Available guerrillas to place? Does the player simply do the follow up Operations? or is the considered a null execution (Event played but no effect)? or does the player not get to t do the Event card and do an Operation?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Olav Riediger
Germany
flag msg tools
badge
Alex crossing the Jaxartes... tricky endeavour.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you run out of pieces you may always take the necessary pieces off the board and place them as desired. This is given somewhere in the rules. Hopefully some CL geek can point us to the right section in the rules, however, I am pretty sure that this is how it works.

Cheers, Olav
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1.4.1, second bullet:
Quote:
Important: A player Faction while executing an Operation, Special Activity, or Event may remove its own pieces (including Casinos) to Available Forces. EXAMPLE: Insurgents without Available Guerrillas could remove Active Guerrillas during a Rally (3.3.1) in order to place them Underground.

Regards, CL Geek
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Willner
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you, oh CL Geek!

We played and loved Cuba Libre and are starting to get our heads around the deep, nuanced interactions of the game. At some point we'll move on to Distant Plain, but for now we're steeping in the sweet smells of jungle rot and cigar smoke!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Oberly
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Volko wrote:
1.4.1, second bullet:
Quote:
Important: A player Faction while executing an Operation, Special Activity, or Event may remove its own pieces (including Casinos) to Available Forces. EXAMPLE: Insurgents without Available Guerrillas could remove Active Guerrillas during a Rally (3.3.1) in order to place them Underground.

Regards, CL Geek


This rule actually confuses me. From the wording, it seems like an Insurgent player can only select active Guerrillas, and then only place them underground (i.e., flip them over)...is the intent that an Insurgent player may remove any of its Guerrillas back to its available forces box, whether active or underground?

As a followup, a player can remove any forces to its Available Forces box while executing an Operation, Special Activity, or Event, from any spaces on the map, up to all of their forces if they so desire?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Mike, yes, that's right in both cases. A Faction may so remove any of its own pieces, including its Underground Guerrillas or Bases, from any map spaces. The rule's sentence beginning "EXAMPLE" is just an example.

The general idea is that those forces are being dissolved and dispersed (no longer supported with resources).

Cheers! Volko
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Oberly
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thanks so much, Volko!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.