Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Pandemic» Forums » Rules

Subject: outbreak during setup rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alan Eisinger
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
If the same city is drawn during the 3-2-1 cube setup phase in the 3 and 1 blocks, does an outbreak occur? Before the game has even begun? Do 'passive' special abilities, like the Quarantine Specialist, function before the game has begun?

This caused confusion that I hope to resolve.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam
Scotland
flag msg tools
admin
badge
I am BGG's official honey trap
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is not possible. Each set of three cards should be moved to the discard pile, so they cannot be redrawn again. When you start the game there should thus be 9 infection cards face up in the discard pile.

Quote:
Put the initial Disease cubes on the board:
a) Draw 3 cards from the Infection Draw Pile and place them face up into the Infection
Discard Pile. For each card drawn, add 3 cubes (of the color of the card) to each pictured city.
b) Draw 3 more cards and do the same thing as above, but add 2 cubes to each pictured city.
c) Draw 3 final cards and do the same as above, but add 1 cube to each city.


As for the Quarantine Specialist - good question (I have an earlier edition that didn't include this role).

No it does not impact initial setup as confirmed by the designer here:
Quarantine specialist - initial cube placement
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Eisinger
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Hmmmm...

We did it that way, but (and unfortunately, I can't check to confirm, since I don't own the game) I think our Infection deck had duplicates. At the time, I thought it was by design.

What's going on here? Am I crazy, and the Infection deck is unique? Did we somehow screw up the setup?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liam
Scotland
flag msg tools
admin
badge
I am BGG's official honey trap
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There shouldn't be any duplicates. Each location should have a matching player and infection card.



10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Enden
United States
Kalamazoo
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gnfnrf wrote:
I think our Infection deck had duplicates.


I have heard of that happening before. I've also heard of missing cards in decks. Better check your deck against a component list.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mango Man
United Kingdom
Cowes
Isle of Wight
flag msg tools
That's going to happen, I don't think.
badge
Will I shut the holy hell up?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gnfnrf wrote:
Do 'passive' special abilities, like the Quarantine Specialist, function before the game has begun?



Roles are only selected after the initial infections. So there are no pawns in Atlanta during the set-up phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Cheng
Taiwan
Taipei City
n/a
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
brayle wrote:
gnfnrf wrote:
I think our Infection deck had duplicates.


I have heard of that happening before. I've also heard of missing cards in decks. Better check your deck against a component list.


I have an extra Tehran card in my infection deck, and I didn't notice it until I came upon the exact situation of the OP. You should check if you are one card short or just one card more.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Hill
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
brayle wrote:
gnfnrf wrote:
I think our Infection deck had duplicates.


I have heard of that happening before. I've also heard of missing cards in decks. Better check your deck against a component list.


Or just check against the board!

Both the Infection Deck and the Player Deck should have one, and only one, card for each, and every, city.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Eisinger
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
So, I was able to check the copy, and it turns out that our Pandemic has four duplicate and four missing Infection cards. The player deck seems correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.