Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Agricola» Forums » Rules

Subject: NL Deck: Minimum Wage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Ross
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Minimum Wage reads: "Once each round, whenever you have no Food in your personal supply, you receive 1 Food."

If I have food on the round space (from, say, the Well), am I allowed to take the Minimum Wage food before that food? Or does all of the Phase I stuff happen at once at the start of the turn, giving me no time to use that ability? (We're a bunch of MTG players, and in MTG you can't do anything before "beginning of upkeep" effects so this seemed sort of counterintuitive.)

Similar question: if my opponent has Year of Disaster ("...each other player must pay 1 Food to the general supply at the start of each work phase..."), there's an opportunity to get the Minimum Wage food before the start of the work phase, right? (This one seems more obvious.)

We played that both of the above are legal, but I want to make sure I'm interpreting the rules right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Ho
United States
Long Island City
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
A lot of Agricola rulings from the Compendium allow you to dictate the timing on when things occur, so long as it's legal. E.g. once in a Stone House, you can use the food from Manservant to pay off the 1 food for Plow Driver. So I think in both cases, you were right in how you played it.

The only thing I could think that might have a slight chance causing issue is the Before Work Phase. While you're replenishing resources and collecting round bonuses, is that part of the round? I strongly think that it is.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick G.
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Does your religion have lightsabers? Nope? Didn't think so.
badge
"A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky dangerous animals." Agent K. Oh my what he would think of people had he known about what the internet would become.....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pioneer99 wrote:
A lot of Agricola rulings from the Compendium allow you to dictate the timing on when things occur, so long as it's legal. E.g. once in a Stone House, you can use the food from Manservant to pay off the 1 food for Plow Driver. So I think in both cases, you were right in how you played it.

The only thing I could think that might have a slight chance causing issue is the Before Work Phase. While you're replenishing resources and collecting round bonuses, is that part of the round? I strongly think that it is.

Sorry.. but I have a newb/busy person question...
What is the Compendium?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Ross
United States
Connecticut
flag msg tools
corkysru wrote:
Sorry.. but I have a newb/busy person question...
What is the Compendium?

http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/34558/the-unofficial-agric...

Contains definitive rulings for cards in the base game and early expansions. Does not contain NL unfortunately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geoff Burkman
United States
Kettering
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Peekaboo!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe Eric is correct; you may enact Minimum Wage at any time (just as the card specifies) during the Round, which includes the very beginning of that Round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.