Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Coral Sea: Campaign Commander Volume II» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions for campaign cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kiyohide Nakaminami
Japan
Nara City
Nara Prefecture
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I enjoyed the first game in last Sunday, and I found a few questions.
All questions are usage of campaign cards.

1. Allied "Air Transport"
Do not require include the airport in the destination area?

2. Allied "Relief"
Can play this card when there is no 1st and 5th Marine Regiments on the board?
If yes, can place 1st and 5th Marine after Relief?

3. Japanese "Coastal Shipping"
The unit moving by this card can pass through a sea area or an area containing opposing units?

4. Japanese "Knee Mortars"/"Midway"
Who select affect unit?

5. Japanese "Knee Mortars"
This card can play any time during battle?
For example, can play before allied player draw first battle chits?

Thank you,
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Ronco Poce
Spain
Sevilla
Sevilla
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
AMI_SOLGER wrote:
I enjoyed the first game in last Sunday, and I found a few questions.
All questions are usage of campaign cards.

1. Allied "Air Transport"
Do not require include the airport in the destination area?

2. Allied "Relief"
Can play this card when there is no 1st and 5th Marine Regiments on the board?
If yes, can place 1st and 5th Marine after Relief?

3. Japanese "Coastal Shipping"
The unit moving by this card can pass through a sea area or an area containing opposing units?

4. Japanese "Knee Mortars"/"Midway"
Who select affect unit?

5. Japanese "Knee Mortars"
This card can play any time during battle?
For example, can play before allied player draw first battle chits?

Thank you,


1. No, you don´t need to have an airstrip in the destination area
2. Yes to both. The card allows for a little bit of "what if" int he Marines deployment from play to play.
3. Card text indicates "you cannot initiate a battle with this move", so no area can be enemy-occupied along the path -including destination area.
4. Always the owner of the card: Series Rules 2.3.3.
5. Yes. Or after an allied unit fails a depletion check to make it "deplete" again and get Desorganized and retreat from battle... It´s up to you the tactic use of those cards. They usually are very useful to a clever Japanese player.

I hope you enjoy the game. Have a nice play!!
Japanese edition is Great!! Command guys did an excellent work!!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kiyohide Nakaminami
Japan
Nara City
Nara Prefecture
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you for the quick reply, Francisco.
I am looking forward to the opportunity of playing the second time.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rich James
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oldfritz wrote:
AMI_SOLGER wrote:
[...]
2. Allied "Relief"
Can play this card when there is no 1st and 5th Marine Regiments on the board?
If yes, can place 1st and 5th Marine after Relief?
[...]


[...]
2. Yes to both. The card allows for a little bit of "what if" int he Marines deployment from play to play.
[...]

Just to be clear, does this mean there are NO restrictions on playing the Relief card? What if the 7th Marines were destroyed and you had not received the other Marines Reinforcements yet? Could you play Relief then, apparently relieving no one?

Or must you relieve at least one unit on the board?

Edit: if you must replace at least one of the units listed, then in the case where all three units were destroyed that would mean the card could not be played (assuming you do have to relieve at least one)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.