Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Hunters: German U-Boats at War, 1939-43» Forums » Rules

Subject: Escort result on Additional Encounters? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Simon George
United Kingdom
Leighton Buzzard
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

In an additional combat round I rolled 'Escort'.

I can't see where this is covered in the rules?

I assume you immediately do an Escort Detection Check? What modifiers do or do not apply?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hannes Riener
Austria
Vienna
Austria
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
[9.4.3] ADDITIONAL ROUND OF COMBAT.
If, for whatever reason, [...]
roll on the Add’l Round of Combat table on the
Encounter Chart [E1]. If the result is “Escort,”
the target ship(s) are now considered to be
under escort and Escort Detection is resolved
immediately
, regardless of what range the
U-Boat is to the target. If the U-Boat avoids
this detection, it still must check for Escort
Detection again for the new combat round, per
the standard ship combat rules (9.2.2).


8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon George
United Kingdom
Leighton Buzzard
Bedfordshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, so range modifiers would be ignored as well? (If for example I was surfaced and attacking a lone ship at close range)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you ignore range in this case. Greg sated in a past thread that your crew have sighted the escort in time to dive and get separation from the target.

Good luck!
Jim P
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.