killy9999
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A few random rules questions after today's game:

1) I find 9.7.6 confusing. I can't tell whether it applies to a single ship or to a convoy and why there are two separate die roll result descriptions if they are both the same (1-4 - escort remain, 5-6 - no escort)? Can someone please reword it in a different way?

2) 10.8.3 says that aborting patrol with inoperable diesel requires rolling twice for the encounter per Travel Box. 10.8.2 says that U-Boat moves through the Transit Box when aborting. Is this difference - travel vs. transit - intended? Do I move through every Travel Box and roll twice when aborting with inoperable diesel or only through Transit Boxes?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2) You skip the Patrol boxes and go directly to the nearest Transit Box where, because of missing one Diesel Eng, you roll 2 times for encouters instead of one. Then repeat the process for each Transit Boxes until back to port.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Beckman
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) The title of the entire rule section is "[9.7] FOLLOWING ESCORTED SHIP OR CONVOY". In addition, in the living rules latest version, I tried to insert "ship or" everywhere I could. Please download the most current rules from http://www.consimpress.com/downloads/the-hunters/.

I don't understand what you mean about the results being the same. If you roll 1-4, the escorts remain with the damaged ship. On a 5-6 they do not.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
killy9999
Scotland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
I don't understand what you mean about the results being the same.
What I meant was that no matter if I follow a Convoy or a single ship I must roll a die to check the escorts and in both cases (ship or convoy) the results are interpreted the same way. I hope it is now clear what I mean.

I downloaded the living rules.

Quote:
I tried to insert "ship or" everywhere I could
Not sure if this makes things clearer. Eg.:

"[9.7.7] When attempting to follow a ship or
Convoy
, roll 1d6. On a roll of 1-4, the U-Boat
has successfully reengaged the Convoy ..." - just Convoy, but not a ship! Similar in 9.7.8.

Please tell me if I got this right:

1. I can decide to follow a single ship under escort or a convoy.

2. I can follow a Capital Ship only if it is damaged (9.7.4). In this case following is automatic and I can attack it again, choosing Day or Night (9.7.5).

3. If no ship is damaged I must roll a die to see if following is successful (9.7.7). Then I must again identify 4 ships in a Convoy (9.7.7), but don't need to identify anything in case of a single ship with escort (common sense).

4. If at least one ship is damaged I can decide to follow them automatically. In that case I roll a die: 1-4 = escort stays, 5-6 no escort. In case of convoy I can pick only one of damaged ships as a target (9.7.6)

5. If ships are damaged in a Convoy I can ignore them and attempt to follow a convoy - in that case go to 3.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Beckman
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The section applies to single escorted ships or convoys. You must roll for escorted damaged ships, convoy or not.

1) Yes.

2) Yes.

3) Yes.

4) You can follow the damaged ships automatically. If you choose to follow the damaged ships, the undamaged ships are no longer available as targets, and neither is the rest of the convoy. If you rolled a 5-6, then the ships are no longer under escort and you can only follow and attack one of them (your choice). If they stay together, however many ships were damaged are still possible targets.

5) Yes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FrUnit7 wrote:
2) You skip the Patrol boxes and go directly to the nearest Transit Box where, because of missing one Diesel Eng, you roll 2 times for encouters instead of one. Then repeat the process for each Transit Boxes until back to port.


Wow, I totally misunderstood this rule. I played it where I rolled twice in Every Travel box. But, other than the Atlantic, I don't see why you are not required to roll for every travel box too. The Atlantic is the only patrol area that Aircraft do not appear. So, I would think this is why you are rolling twice per Transit box as you are moving slower than with two functioning Diesels and it is easier to be found/spotted.

Well that works for me less chance of getting the crap beat out of my U-Boats.

Jim P cool
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve C
United States
Princeton
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jasta6 wrote:
I don't see why you are not required to roll for every travel box too.


Because you are aborting your patrol area.

A patrol area is an area where you are circling which includes multiple turns traveling in your travel boxes that shows time spent in your patrol area.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GenChaos wrote:
jasta6 wrote:
I don't see why you are not required to roll for every travel box too.


Because you are aborting your patrol area.


I understand I am aborting the mission and will decline to engage ships, but I still have to travel through the ocean to get to the Transit box and Aircraft are still searching for U-Boats in the Travel Boxes. So why Would I not roll for these boxes?? I am still going slow through the Travel Box. Standard operations for a U-Boat not engaged with the enemy was to travel on the surface as the battery life was shot and they only had so much compressed air, which gets used up when submerged. The Aircraft are still out there and they are harder to just avoid...

So my original statement still stands. "I don't see why you are not required to roll for every travel box too."

Greg?

Thanks,
JimP cool
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Beckman
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The patrol area is next to the travel area. You immediately abandon the patrol area and travel back through the travel boxes.The patrol area is, as mentioned above, an area you are looping through. It is not a linear progression. You are not going from point A to point B; you are leaving point A, circling about, then returning to point A. All the patrol boxes on a patrol track represent roughly the same area, just time spent there. Yes, you might actually be a few days further away at one point than another, but the game is abstracting that out.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim P
United States
Sterling Heights
Michigan
flag msg tools
Glück muss man haben
badge
But what I do have are a very particular set of skills, skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you… And I will beat you.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JackBeckman wrote:
The patrol area is next to the travel area. You immediately abandon the patrol area and travel back through the travel boxes.The patrol area is, as mentioned above, an area you are looping through. It is not a linear progression. You are not going from point A to point B; you are leaving point A, circling about, then returning to point A. All the patrol boxes on a patrol track represent roughly the same area, just time spent there. Yes, you might actually be a few days further away at one point than another, but the game is abstracting that out.


OK! This didn't set in at first. I now see how this is working, Thanks for the clarification.

Thanks!
Jim P cool
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.