Don Burns
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
Need a little clarification...
In one of the FAQ's it states, "A FLIP effect happens instantly, so you can’t play a Shield afterwards to reduce damage, but if you have one in play you will prevent that amount of damage."

I have two questions related to this.
1) Does "Shield" here refer only to the Shield statistic at the bottom of a card? Or does it also refer to the card "Deflector Shields" which reduces the damage of an effect when discarded from your hand -- is that an exception? I'm guessing it is.

2) Whenever any card effect would damage your flagship, is that damage always reduced by your current Shield value? No matter how many cards would inflict damage in a turn? Say your current shield level is 4; does that mean that to damage your ship at all, any single card would have to inflict 5+ damage that turn? It sounds like it...

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacovis
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) shields on the bottom of your cards. If you get attacked and you have cards that add to your shield stat in your hand, imagine that you haven't raised them yet because they haven't been played. You wouldn't have time to respond to the attack by that point. Edit: yes, deflector shields is the exception, since it says on the card "play anytime" to reduce damage by 3. However, the +4 Shields it provides at the bottom would be provided already if you had already played it, so when you can that is usually the better option, unless in a battle for example to deceive your opponent.

2) your shield values are one shot, so once you have taken enough damage to deplete them completely, they are gone. If your shield level is 4, and you take 3 damage, you would reduce that by 3. The. If you later took 2 more damage, you would still have 1 shield remaining so you would reduce the new damage by 1 and take only 1. Then, if you took another 3 damage that turn you would take all three of that damage since your shields have already been spent.

Hope that helps. Cheers!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Burns
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
Makes sense. Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Burns
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
If your shield level is 4, and you take 3 damage, you would reduce that by 3 and take none. Then, if you took another 3 damage that turn, would you reduce that by the remaining 1 and take two damage? Or is there no reduction because the shields have already been partially used?
So you would need to play more shields before the additional damage to get any protection?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jacovis
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Domhnall wrote:
If your shield level is 4, and you take 3 damage, you would reduce that by 3 and take none. Then, if you took another 3 damage that turn, would you reduce that by the remaining 1 and take two damage? Or is there no reduction because the shields have already been partially used?
So you would need to play more shields before the additional damage to get any protection?


You would reduce the remaining damage by whatever was left of your shields, you are correct. So, your first example is correct. You take 3 more damage with one shield, your shields block 1, you take the remaining 2. And going forward you have no more shields unless you somehow play another one.

I can see how I worded that could be confusing, I'll fix it.

Cheers!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Trimboli
United States
Oyster Bay
New York
flag msg tools
mb
Think of it this way. When you play a card with Shields, take a number of counters (poker chips, pennies, glass beads, whatever) equal to the Shields value. When you take damage, remove one counter instead of taking a point of damage. If you run out of counters, you start taking damage instead. If you have counters left over at the end of your turn, discard all the counters.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Don Burns
United States
Beaverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
Makes sense. Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.