Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John C
United States
Charleston
Missouri
flag msg tools
Greetings fellow gamers.

I am new here and to the forums. Been lurking for a while. Pretty excited about now being able to connect with fellow gamers.

My wife bought Arkham Horror for me for Christmas. When I first saw the box, I was worried. I have been hinting at getting a D&D Board Game (Ravenloft) or the Pathfinder Card Game as fantasy is really my normal RPG theme.

Those worries were quickly put to rest when we sat down and played for the first time. We both fell madly in love with the game. More so than any other game we have ever played. So much so, that we have played every night and haven't gotten tired of it yet and don't expect to any time soon. I even got the Dunwich Horror Expansion a couple of days ago, and we are even more in love with the game now as the expansion has added so much to the game.

You have to understand, my background is in psychology and occult lore (topics I live and die for) and I love taking on the role of a game leader in traditional RPGS (storyteller, dungeon master, keeper, whatever you want to call it). This board game has given me the chance to actually be able to play and enjoy the game world – with which I have a rich imagination for.

I've been pondering getting one of the smaller expansions for the game to keep building "the world" for us to play in.

The problem:vI'm starting to hear about Eldritch Horror.....mostly really good things. So I'm at a crossroads now.

What we both love about Arkham is the normally cooperative game-play, the events/encounters, the item cards (especially spell cards) and the general theme and atmosphere. I'm just wondering right now, if I would be better off getting Eldritch Horror or moving ahead with a new expansion for Arkham?