Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Roads & Boats» Forums » Rules

Subject: How do you handle conflict? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Kulik
United States
Livonia
Michigan
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We played our first 4 player game today and some of the people got disgruntled about the way we interpreted the conflict rules.

One player was in the middle of his turn and all of a sudden another player called conflict. The other player then swooped in with his boat and picked up all his resources.

He was thinking it wasn't fair at all and conflict should be called before he started moving. The rules aren't very clear about this and was wondering how it can work without frustrating everyone.

When someone calls conflict, does a player have the opportunity to redo or take back the move he just completed or do you just play out the conflict from that point on in turn order?

The player said he would have done his turn differently if he would have known that could have happened.

Maybe we could just play in turn order once there are opportunities for conflict, but that would make for a very long game.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
-matt s.
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
/geeklist/240879
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kuliksco wrote:
We played our first 4 player game today and some of the people got disgruntled about the way we interpreted the conflict rules.

One player was in the middle of his turn and all of a sudden another player called conflict. The other player then swooped in with his boat and picked up all his resources.

He was thinking it wasn't fair at all and conflict should be called before he started moving. The rules aren't very clear about this and was wondering how it can work without frustrating everyone.

When someone calls conflict, does a player have the opportunity to redo or take back the move he just completed or do you just play out the conflict from that point on in turn order?

The player said he would have done his turn differently if he would have known that could have happened.

Maybe we could just play in turn order once there are opportunities for conflict, but that would make for a very long game.


You play in turn order IF there is any conflict that can occur. In our games it was obvious and only in a couple of key areas so shouldn't disrupt overall game time too much - usually the conflicting areas were dealt with first and it was usually pretty quick. Mid-turn is a little trickier, but you need to be aware of what others might be able to do.

Note that at the beginning of each new PHASE, you should ask if anyone wants to change turn order (via the prayer track) - most times no one cares and it takes just a second to determine, but if conflicts look to be happening, then definitely ask because that's the only time you can change turn order. Then, turn order determines who can go first when there is a conflicting situation. My suggestion is to ask explicitly at the beginning of EVERY phase. It may be slightly annoying, but certainly less annoying than everyone playing their full turn in turn order.

And, yes, you have to be very careful where you leave resources lying around...if you leave them alone on a tile anyone can potentially come by and take them. Be especially careful with your geese - if you lose all your geese you could be in trouble to get to certain tech.

On R&B, you can play nice or you can play mean, or somewhere in between. You can also work together if you so choose.

11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Børge N
Norway
Porsgrunn
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It looks like you are aware that you cannot call for the turn order phase in the middle of the turn, but that there was no turn order phase before this movement phase, and that the player "calling conflict" already was ahead in turn order.

In this case, he was fully allowed to go in and pick up any unowned resources. Generally, players are aware of possible conflicts, and the first player should do his "conflicting" moves first (or announcing that he has none). Then, the second player can start his turn while the first player continues with the rest of his.

This should keep the game flowing at a good pace, but of course, towards the end, all possibilities for interactions can slow the game down quite much.

kuliksco wrote:
The player said he would have done his turn differently if he would have known that could have happened.
If you realize during the middle of the turn that a conflict arises, then the "victim" definitively should be allowed to undo his turn. After all, he shouldn't have moved anything until the other player's turn was over.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How do you handle conflict
Can someone please describe exactly what happens when someone declares a conflict? There were some examles i. The rulebook bur it dident really clearify enough. "Player B is last and therefor obviosly dint stop praying" for me that was not clear at all. What is the good psrt in being close to temple? Really need a new explenstion to this.

For example "If more than one player chooses to do so in the same phase,the player whose praying figure was closest to temple originally now becomes the last player in the row."
This does not make any change. If all decide to ho to the back of the line, the order. Would be exactly the same as from the start!?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeroen Doumen
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Click to see this player's page
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tolchock wrote:
Can someone please describe exactly what happens when someone declares a conflict? There were some examles i. The rulebook bur it dident really clearify enough. "Player B is last and therefor obviosly dint stop praying" for me that was not clear at all. What is the good psrt in being close to temple? Really need a new explenstion to this.


Two steps to explain: secondly, the player who is furthest from the temple gets to pick first. However, (first) the player closest to the temple can move all the way back (and is thus guaranteed first choice once).

Quote:
For example "If more than one player chooses to do so in the same phase,the player whose praying figure was closest to temple originally now becomes the last player in the row."
This does not make any change. If all decide to ho to the back of the line, the order. Would be exactly the same as from the start!?


No, then the order reverses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jmdsplotter wrote:
Tolchock wrote:
Can someone please describe exactly what happens when someone declares a conflict? There were some examles i. The rulebook bur it dident really clearify enough. "Player B is last and therefor obviosly dint stop praying" for me that was not clear at all. What is the good psrt in being close to temple? Really need a new explenstion to this.


Two steps to explain: secondly, the player who is furthest from the temple gets to pick first. However, (first) the player closest to the temple can move all the way back (and is thus guaranteed first choice once).

Quote:
For example "If more than one player chooses to do so in the same phase,the player whose praying figure was closest to temple originally now becomes the last player in the row."
This does not make any change. If all decide to ho to the back of the line, the order. Would be exactly the same as from the start!?


No, then the order reverses.

But if all get to choose to stop pray it will be the same...

A . B . C . Tempel - C starts with choose to go back, which gives us:

C . A . B . Tempel - then B do the same thing, which gives us:

B . C . A . Tempel - Then A does it also: which put us back as it was:

A . B . C . Tempel
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tolchock wrote:
But if all get to choose to stop pray it will be the same...

A . B . C . Tempel - C starts with choose to go back, which gives us:

C . A . B . Tempel - then B do the same thing, which gives us:

B . C . A . Tempel - Then A does it also: which put us back as it was:

A . B . C . Tempel


From the rules:
Quote:
Starting from the player whose praying figure is closest to the temple, all players have the option to move their praying figure to the back of the row. If more than one player chooses to do so in the same phase, the player whose praying figure was closest to temple originally now becomes the last player in the row.


So:
A . B . C . Tempel - C starts with choose to go back, which gives us:

C . A . B . Tempel - then B do the same thing, which gives us:

B . C . A . Tempel
C . B . A . Tempel

C was closest to the temple at the start of the conflict ("originally"), so he becomes the last player in the row. And stays there, no matter what other players do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Werbaer wrote:
Tolchock wrote:
But if all get to choose to stop pray it will be the same...

A . B . C . Tempel - C starts with choose to go back, which gives us:

C . A . B . Tempel - then B do the same thing, which gives us:

B . C . A . Tempel - Then A does it also: which put us back as it was:

A . B . C . Tempel


From the rules:
Quote:
Starting from the player whose praying figure is closest to the temple, all players have the option to move their praying figure to the back of the row. If more than one player chooses to do so in the same phase, the player whose praying figure was closest to temple originally now becomes the last player in the row.


So:
A . B . C . Tempel - C starts with choose to go back, which gives us:

C . A . B . Tempel - then B do the same thing, which gives us:

B . C . A . Tempel
C . B . A . Tempel

C was closest to the temple at the start of the conflict ("originally"), so he becomes the last player in the row. And stays there, no matter what other players do.

And now the A player can not respond? So the rules is: player closest to Tempel will be furthest back. Player furthest back can never respond and have to get the place he gets?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In a 4 player game it goes like this then:?

A-B-C-D-Tempel
D decide to move:
D-A-B-C-Tempel
C decide to move
D-C-A-B-Tempel
B decide to move
D-C-B-A-Tempel
A cant move (he was stsrting furthest back)


What happens if C choose to stay but B want to move?
D-B-A-C-Tempel ? Bevouse A cant react?
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Would love a confirmation that I have it correctly
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeroen Doumen
Netherlands
Eindhoven
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Click to see this player's page
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tolchock wrote:
In a 4 player game it goes like this then:?

A-B-C-D-Tempel
D decide to move:
D-A-B-C-Tempel
C decide to move
D-C-A-B-Tempel
B decide to move
D-C-B-A-Tempel
A cant move (he was stsrting furthest back)


What happens if C choose to stay but B want to move?
D-B-A-C-Tempel ? Bevouse A cant react?


Yes, correct. And then choose player order starting with the player furthest from the temple (so D chooses first, and so on).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.