Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Europe Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reinforcing/Redeploying across Sea and/or Air Route rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Diego Torres-Siclait
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
Hello everyone,
I read a recent thread made by George Christodoulou on the concept behind reinforcing via sea. At first, I thought it was a bit too unrealistic for any kind of reinforcing to occur other than lets say air power over the British Channel. I began to play around with the idea and came up with a rule that is relatively balanced and doesn't change the game too much. I'm especially curious as to what Jesse and Rick think about the game.

Reinforcing/Redeploying across Sea and/or Air Route:
Players may spend a SA to reinforce any nation under attack.
-The Reinforcing/Redeploying must occur on the same Player-Turn as the declaration of war against a Minor Power (including Vichy France)
-The area can be any friendly controlled area of the neutral power that contains an air route, friendly controlled port, and/or beach head for the reinforcement to occur (Keep in mind supply rules for a beach head apply)
-Only a single Infantry-class unit may reinforce via sea; a GSU and an airborne unit may also participate if any air routes are available
-Only one SA can be used per area
-Reinforcing via sea is subjected to naval combat

This rule is specifically designed for Major Powers to reinforce any friendly Minor Powers under attack. The rule allows a player to send an initial task force to the nation during the opponent’s turn to slow down their invasion.

Example:
It is the Allied-player Turn of May-Jun 1940 and France has fallen. Great Britain declares war on Norway and launches an Amphibious Assault on Trondheim. The German player has a single SA. Expecting the British attack, the German player has two full strength Airborne and two 3-step Infantry units in Denmark as well as a 4-step Infantry in Ruhr.
The German player can spend his SA to either reinforce:
-Oslo with one Airborne unit and a 3-step Infantry unit via the air route and Fleet Point in the Baltic Sea or
-Trondheim with a 4-step Infantry at Ruhr and the German Fleet Point in the Atlantic

The German player chooses neither option and waits to see if the Norwegians can keep Trondheim contested.

The British successfully take Trondheim and now the W. Allies player spends an additional SA for a Breakthrough Operational Move to Oslo. Norway now requires immediate German assistance to avoid defeat and the German player spends his special action to reinforce the now contested area of Oslo.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Hopcroft
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One would think that if France had just fallen and the Germans were massed at the Channel England would have more important things to do than attack a neutral Norway....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Diego Torres-Siclait
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
But remember, this is Europe Engulfed and the player has the ability to make decisions that are strategically beneficial for the war rather than for politics. So what if GB invades a neutral power? If Western Allies player knows that securing Norway will block Swedish Ore and maximize lend-lease to the Soviet Union, then they by all means should do it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.