Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
matthew colvin
United States
Washington
Dist of Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Conversely to the other thread: what new (or new to you) games did you play in 2013 that completely, utterly, totally lived up to their hype?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Thunkd
United States
Florence
MA
flag msg tools
designer
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Terra Mystica, Tzolk'in and The Resistance.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Walters
United States
Gainesville
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Ticket to Ride

Now, before you all laugh at me: I'm relatively new to gaming over the past year or so and am typically anti-mainstream with anything (that's a personal issue). So when everyone said TTR was a must-have in a starting collection I blew it off and tried games with a narrower audience based on what I thought I'd like with mixed results. Then, when TTR when on lightning sale on Amazon, I said "what the heck" and picked it up. Naturally, it's a family favorite...and I get to admit that I really enjoy it as well. That's saying something for a game that probably is a little over-hyped as a classic gateway game.

Also: Takenoko. Not sure that there was a lot of hype, but Will Wheaton sure liked it and I find I like it quite a bit myself.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan King
United States
Fairmount
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Without a doubt it was Hive. When I first saw this game recommended to someone else, I was unimpressed. Curiosity got the best of me finally, so I looked it up in the database. I became interested, so I bought a copy from eBay. After one play I was hooked! I then became obsessed with getting all three official expansions, and I did. I can't recommend this game enough! Far out! Also Boxcars was everything I hoped it would be. A great replacement for Rail Baron.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Cook
United States
Denton
Texas
flag msg tools
*beep*
badge
mbmbmbmbmb