Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Magestorm» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fireblade = automatic maximum damage? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steven F
United States
wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Don't understand how Fireblade works.

Is it when Fireblade is used you don't need to bother rolling combat and defense die because Fireblade automatically makes the attacker inflict maximum damage (+1 damage for each unit in the attacking front line)?


Actual text for FireBlade rule is:
'The target gains (maximum) damage +1 for each troop in its first line"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cavaliere
United States
Littleton
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Fireblade add +1 for each unit in your first line so when you're adding up attack values to compare with defense values, you get +1 for each troop present there.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
w teefha
msg tools
mbmbmb
But you will get the Damagebonus from fireblade only, if you have more attack then the oponents defend. If the defens is higer, each Unit will make only 2 damage and each creature only 1 (appart from the alma, of yourse, she does always the full damage.)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven F
United States
wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
teefha wrote:
But you will get the Damagebonus from fireblade only, if you have more attack then the oponents defend. If the defens is higer, each Unit will make only 2 damage and each creature only 1 (appart from the alma, of yourse, she does always the full damage.)



Really? Were you able to get this rule interpretation confirmed?
Thematically I would think a flaming sword would boost damage whether it was inflicting minimum or maximum damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
manko wrote:
teefha wrote:
But you will get the Damagebonus from fireblade only, if you have more attack then the oponents defend. If the defens is higer, each Unit will make only 2 damage and each creature only 1 (appart from the alma, of yourse, she does always the full damage.)



Really? Were you able to get this rule interpretation confirmed?
Thematically I would think a flaming sword would boost damage whether it was inflicting minimum or maximum damage.

The rule text specifically says 'maximum' damage on it; I don't see how you could interpret it to also apply to minimum damage.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.