Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Why can the Fire Captain only command the CAFS once? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kenneth Stuart
United States
Hawthorne
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
I get that the Captain can use any number of his AP as Command APs to command other players to move or open/close doors, but why can he command all other players any number of times except the CAFS, which can only be commanded once?

Any insight to this rule?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
wizcreations wrote:
I get that the Captain can use any number of his AP as Command APs to command other players to move or open/close doors, but why can he command all other players any number of times except the CAFS, which can only be commanded once?

Any insight to this rule?

CAFS is a powerful fire fighter that puts out the actual fire. He is hampered by not being able to move very far. This penalty would be offset if the Captain could move him freely. So he is limited to only the 1 AP to continue to simulate that CAFS is laden with equipment.
13 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Alderman
United States
Shady Spring
West Virginia
flag msg tools
Trust me, I am not the Traitor.
badge
For Orcs there is no other life but WAR!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seeing as how the CAFS is the best at fighting fires within the building the captain could use all his points to constantly move the CAFS into critical spots where they would be able to put out 3 fires or more in a turn without having to use any AP on movement the whole game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kenneth Stuart
United States
Hawthorne
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Alright, I understand the limiter now. Limit 1 seems pretty excessive, but thanks for the info.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brandon Metchooyeah
Canada
Vegreville
Alberta
flag msg tools
I am really glad you brought up this question, because, myself personally have been playing this game religiously for several weeks since I discovered it. (And can you believe I only 3 days ago discovered there is an expansion to the original game?!)

I play with a group of 5-6 People, Unfortunately I am the only one to take initiative to learn new games and read all the rules that I have to pass down so unfortunately it is common that some rules get mis interpreted, missed, etc etc. Such as with our previous games.

We LOVE the CAFS firefighter, however we forgot about the only once rule and we always had a CAFS / Captain Mix in the group and he would spend a lot of AP moving the CAFS.

I only discovered this Forum today so im really looking forward to getting clarification on a lot of issues / questions for this game.

But your answer really puts to light the limitations on the captain / Cafs Role.

Thanks for the question and answer.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel (working on TENNISmind...)
France
Caen
(from Valencia, Spain)
flag msg tools
designer
My latest game: Big*Bang, a simple abstract about the first minutes of the Universe
badge
My best-rated game: TETRARCHIA, about the tetrarchy that saved Rome
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I started another thread about hot spots that leaded to this discussion about the exception about the Captain special ability (which was forgotten on his role card) concerning the CAFS.

By the end the author himself explains this limit. It seems that at the beginning there was no exception, the CAFS had 4 AP (plus the 3 bonus for fire), but moved at double cost. So it was like having 2 AP to move, 1 less than now, but could be commanded anyway like the others, though at double cost.

I would have prefered something along this line, it seems more elegant. Maybe the simplest one would have been: 8 AP, no extinguish fire bonus, moving at double cost. In practice it would be not so different: move 2/3 spaces and 4/2 AP to extinguish. The Captain could command him to move up to 3 spaces, but very expensively (in practice he wouldn't). (it wouldn't work, see below)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Byrd
United States
Gladwyne
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Except that then he'd be a chopping, ambulance-moving, deck gun-firing powerhouse; and then you'd have to mitigate that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Miguel (working on TENNISmind...)
France
Caen
(from Valencia, Spain)
flag msg tools
designer
My latest game: Big*Bang, a simple abstract about the first minutes of the Universe
badge
My best-rated game: TETRARCHIA, about the tetrarchy that saved Rome
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jackbird wrote:
Except that then he'd be a chopping, ambulance-moving, deck gun-firing powerhouse; and then you'd have to mitigate that.
You're right, the CAFS should be left as is.

I guess that a simpler rule for the Captain would be that he cannot command firefighters to move more than they can (7 the rescue specialist, 5 the generalist, 3 the CAFS, for example). The specific limit of 1 for the CAFS seems too gamey, and hard to remember/understand for new players.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
franchi wrote:
The specific limit of 1 for the CAFS seems too gamey, and hard to remember/understand for new players.

Nah, he just resents authority.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.