Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

BattleLore (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Blood Harvesters and Unstoppable rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jürgen Graf
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
A unit of Blood Harvesters is getting wiped out. The Uthuk player plays "Unstoppable" ("Before that unit is eliminated, it may counter").
How many bonus dice do the Blood Harvesters get for their "Rage"-ability?
(Do they get the third bonus die, even if that would mean there would be literally none of them standing to fight back?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Graf wrote:
A unit of Blood Harvesters is getting wiped out. The Uthuk player plays "Unstoppable" ("Before that unit is eliminated, it may counter").
How many bonus dice do the Blood Harvesters get for their "Rage"-ability?
(Do they get the third bonus die, even if that would mean there would be literally none of them standing to fight back?)

The reference book says that when Unstoppable is played, the counter happens "immediately before the step of combat in which that unit is eliminated" occurs.

So it depends on how many figures are in the unit prior to the step which caused the unit to die.

For instance, if the Blood Harvester is at full strength, and takes 3 damage in one attack, but plays Unstoppable, it counters as if it was at full strength. (NOTE: It can still use Frenzy, though!)

If the Blood Harvester was at 2 units left, and took 2 hits, it would counter with 4 dice.

However, if the Blood Harvester was at 2 units, and took 1 hit and 1 retreat, but it's retreat path was blocked, the hit step happens first, so it's down to 1 unit, but then since the retreat step would kill it, Unstoppable triggers right before then - the unit would roll 5 dice, but it would be weak since it has only 1 figure remaining.


In any case, Unstoppable is a pretty nasty card for Blood Harvesters in general, because they essentially get one extra "hit" result - since the Harvesters are going to die anyway, there's no reason to not use Frenzy for every Helmet rolled during the counter, meaning that all X, /, and helmet results are hits (or just the X and helmet if it was weak).
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jürgen Graf
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thank you very much!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.