Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
18 Posts

Carthage: The First Punic War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Um...about raising new armies for the Carthaginians... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

So, I finally get above a cautious for the Carthaginians. Their one army in Sicily is dwindling like my bank balance. The other army festers in Carthage. Now I can build a new army!

So do I...

a. Create stacks of troops using the reinforcement table and place according to the placement rules, choosing one stack as my new army and leaving the other stacks on the map (to potentially increase my existing armies)

b. Create a stacks of troops etc..., choosing one stack as my new army and bin the rest.

c. Hope RB or AR has remembered which it is?

d. Another.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think it's 'a'.

Raise new troops and place them in their countries or controlled ports. Move them and create a big stack. Then declare the new army formed and appoint a commander.

Once created, you can only add replacements for units lost the previous turn and if you add other units scattered in the map it can reduce the army's efficiency.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marticabre wrote:
I think it's 'a'.

Raise new troops and place them in their countries or controlled ports. Move them and create a big stack. Then declare the new army formed and appoint a commander.

Once created, you can only add replacements for units lost the previous turn and if you add other units scattered in the map it can reduce the army's efficiency.


Agreed, I think it's A too. I am curious how anyone can play this game without knowing the answer to this question
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Um... Richard Berg's games usually need some house ruling for closure. He focuses more in the simulation aspect that the gaming aspect.

So if you don't know how Carthaginians raised their armies you make it up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

I might have to chew the pilum and get myself a csw account. I did trawling through 300 old posts before I decided I couldn't carry on.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Browsing CSW is a PITA, at least for me. I posted there some questions on this game some years ago and the answers were late and not much clear, so although I prefer to play with rules clear as water, in this case I'd go with BGGing and using common sense.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nik Knight
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Alan Ray, the developer, has been answering questions pretty steadily these last few weeks over at the CSW Carthage page . He is also working on Hoplite and several updates to GBoH, so any downtime in answering might be due to that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

I've left a message there
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you'd be so kind to repost here the replies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Will do. The clarification I have had so far sort of helped but (unless I'm just reading too much into it) I needed a bit more.

Do I roll on the reinforcement table in the allowed categories, bring on the reinforcement to wherever they are allowed to turn up, choose one as my new army and then bin the rest? Or do these others (if I can't bring them all on in one place) mill around until I can pick them up?

Whether you raise an army or reinforce you make all the rolls. If raise an army you receive all the SP that you rolled and that is your army. If you reinforce, you receive either what you rolled or an amount equal to your losses from the prior turn whichever is less.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It seems clear.

What's not clear is if these units start the game all stacked in one location as a magically created army or they appear in their allowed sites (source provinces, ports, etc.) and you have to move them together to create the army.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Well my game is in limbo until I find out It is a really good game - totally absorbing and I'm starting to see how it all fits together.

Fortunately I spent my day off playing the sublime Burma with my regular opponent so it wasn't all just twiddling thumbs and waiting for an answer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dean Zadiraka
United States
Holland
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Alan Ray, the developer, has been answering questions pretty steadily these last few weeks over at the CSW Carthage page . He is also working on Hoplite and several updates to GBoH, so any downtime in answering might be due to that.


And in his spare time, also developing Genesis, and I wouldn't be surprised if there are still additional things we've missed that he is working on.

He's always prompt about answering questions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nik Knight
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Here is his reply from earlier tonight:

Quote:
The incoming manpower is placed per CR 10.43. If you are forming an Army - see CR 10.48. Generally its a good idea to place the army markers on the largest stack in the target province. The rest you have to gather up.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim F
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
Who knew trench warfare could be such fun?
badge
Ashwin in front of Tiger 131
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Great stuff.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's clear then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Couturier
Canada
flag msg tools
Yeah the problem though with 'gathering up' is could take a whole year (game turn) to accomplish and then the Carthaginian Senate goes cautious and you need to disband the army before you even get a chance to use it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kev.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Read & Watch at www.bigboardgaming.com
Avatar
Disbanding will depend, even if cautious as there is a roll to see if the army disbands.

When you say gather up you are saying i.e. create army in largest recruited area say Libya, with a leader then move units from other regions such as Gaul/Masslia to that army wherever it is? You appoint a leader then yes?

Note that you can do something with a leader and 'automagically' use a LAM to represent him moving the recruits. i dont have rule book in front of me to quote.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.