United States
Fort Myers
Florida
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi, I'm new to Photoshop and I understand the concept of bleed area and know how to adjust accordingly. However, I can't figure out how to actually apply "physical" bleed lines. I know how to add a separate layer and all, but is there a right or wrong method of doing this? More specifically, how do I apply circular bleed lines. Any advice would help. Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Chien
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bleed lines are just reference visual guidelines for expected cuts by the die machine.

For circular, I would recommend:

1. Create a vector circle in your PSD at the correct size
2. Duplicate that layer
3. Expand the new layer by the necessary size up (ie. 1/8" bleed all around)
4. Give that layer a stroke (layer effect) and no fill.

You would then just make sure that your design sits went in that original correct circle (#1) but have the necessary color bleed into the larger circle (#3).

Hope that helps.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Franka
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmb
Can you point to an example of what you're trying to do? I know what "bleed" is and I know what "crop marks" are, but I am not sure I understand what "bleed lines" are. Is that the same thing as a crop mark? Maybe that will also help me to understand what being circular has to do with them. I just don't think I understand specifically what you're referring to.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Wocken
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Freelance Game Graphic Designer
mbmbmbmbmb