Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Deep Space Cannons and Tactical Retreats rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will Thibault
United States
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A question that came up last game; Does a Tactical Retreat trigger PDS fire? The text for TRs does use the word "activate", but retreating to another hex that's already activated certainly doesn't trigger PDS fire. I see three possibilities, listed in order of what I think is the likelihood they're correct;

1) PDSs do not fire at all in this circumstance.
2) PDSs fire as soon as the adjacent hex is activated (so, before the combat is actually resolved; the retreating fleet won't be targeted.)
3) PDSs fire once the fleet leaves the system.

It wasn't actually important in-game (No one had DSC), but it was something we could see coming up in the future.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hector Flores
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
#1 is correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
possum man
England
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
PDS only fire during Step 3 of a Tactical Action. As this is not a tactical action, the PDS may not fire.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Ringlstetter
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
possumman wrote:
PDS only fire during Step 3 of a Tactical Action.


PDS also fire in Step 3 of a transfer action. But definitely not as a result of tactical retreat...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.