Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Formula D» Forums » Rules

Subject: Do you roll for collisions if you slipstream? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ross Levine
United States
Oro Valley
Arizona
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebook for this game is among the worst I have ever read. Do you roll for collisions when you are slipstreaming? What about if you "chain" slipstreams?
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mavis
England
A Fine City
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
You only roll for collisions when you have completely finished your move, including all slipstream movement.
8 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Crouch
United States
Valrico
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Collision checks are required for cars that are adjacent to each other after movement is complete, as Mavis said above. Since slipstreaming starts and ends with the cars adjacent, then the collision check rules apply.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Papageorgiou
Greece
Larisa
Larisa
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Mavis is correct

Collision check is done only when at the END of its movement a car (car A) stops in a square adjacent to another car (car B). Adjacent squares are all squares touching car B but does NOT include the one directly in front of it (this is considered safe and no roll for collision between A and B is done).

randomlogic wrote:
Since slipstreaming starts and ends with the cars adjacent, then the collision check rules apply.


I will disagree with this.
The start of the slipstream does not count for collision if the slipstream bonus is going to be used (the move has not ended yet). If the player chooses to ignore the bonus and only then does a check take place (the move has ended in a collision candidate space). Also the 3 extra spaces give enough clearance to bring the moving car (car A from above) directly in front of car B which is a safe from collisions between A and B space.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Walters
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Unless you finish directly in front of the car you slipstream.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Papageorgiou
Greece
Larisa
Larisa
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thantos13 wrote:
Unless you finish directly in front of the car you slipstream.


To get slipstream you must finish DIRECTLY BEHIND the other car, both cars must be on 4th or higher gear and the car behind must not be on higher gear than the front car and must not have used brakes in order to go behind that car (although he can use brakes to reduce the 3 bonus slipstream spaces afterwards) . (see Formula D advanced rules page 7, Slipstream)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Spas
United States
Rescue
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The way we play is if AFTER drafting, you finish adjacent to any cars (including the one you are drafting off of), you roll for collisions.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Walters
United States
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
To slipstream ,yes, you must land directly behind the car you intend to slipstream. But your finished move, after the slipstream, involves moving 3 more spaces. You may finish directly in front of the car you slipstream, ending your turn. If this occurs you do not roll for collision.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tor Sverre Lund
Norway
Trondheim
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rlbond86 wrote:
The rulebook for this game is among the worst I have ever read. Do you roll for collisions when you are slipstreaming? What about if you "chain" slipstreams?

You only check for collision when you END your movement next to another car (except directly in front of it). When slipstreaming, you haven't yet ended your movement.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.