Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Successful vs Unsuccessful Runs? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David O
United States
Rancho Cordova
California
flag msg tools
mb
I saw this posted in another thread:

If your run is successful, you must access all cards in a remote server. You can choose to jack out after passing all of the ice on a server, but this is then considered to be an unsuccessful run.

Both of those scenarios seem identical to me. Can anyone clarify?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel D
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The choice in step 4.2 of your run timing chart highlights the difference. Prior to accessing cards in any server the runner must choose to either access or jack out. If they jack out then they don't get to see what's in the remote, if they access then they do (and can steal, trash, get hit by a trap, etc...). The former is considered unsuccessful, the latter is successful.
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Steck
United States
Benton
Arkansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The other important thing to remember is that once the runner decides to access cards, there is another paid events/rez cards window before the runner has a chance to access cards.

For Reference:
Timing Structure of a Run wrote:

4. Runner approaches attacked server
4.1. Paid abilities can be used.
4.2. Runner decides:
To jack out, go to 6
or to continue, go to 4.3
4.3. Paid abilities may be used, cards may be rezzed.
4.4. Run is successful. Trigger abilities if any.
4.5. Access cards. Trigger abilities if any.
Agenda : Stolen (Unless additional cost)
Trash cost present : may be paid to trash
Everything not trashed or stolen is returned to server.


8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philip Livesey
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
In what order are the cards accessed? Does the Runner decide, or the Corporation? Or is it considered simultaneous?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steven Steck
United States
Benton
Arkansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Runner accesses cards in any order he/she chooses. You must completely finishing accessing once card before moving onto the next. This is especially important when accessing multiple hidden cards. You you must decide what to do with the first card before moving onto additional cards.

Note that some cards may already be exposed, but unless overridden by a specific card effect, these cards need not be accessed first.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gregory Pettigrew
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
cubbieblue wrote:
Runner accesses cards in any order he/she chooses. You must completely finishing accessing once card before moving onto the next. This is especially important when accessing multiple hidden cards. You you must decide what to do with the first card before moving onto additional cards.

Note that some cards may already be exposed, but unless overridden by a specific card effect, these cards need not be accessed first.


The exception to this is when Accessing cards off the top of R&D. Cards on the top of R&D must be Accessed in order. If there is an Upgrade Installed in the Root of R&D, you can Access the Upgrade at any time in between cards in R&D.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.