Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Clash of Cultures» Forums » Rules

Subject: Event cards... pay a culture rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In our first play I drew and event card that says "The first player that pays a culture can AAA...."

Does that mean, I have to do something in which I spend a culture, such as cultural influence action or buy a wonder? Or, does that just mean, I can pay a culture to do the stuff on the card AAA?

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
pilotbob wrote:
In our first play I drew and event card that says "The first player that pays a culture can AAA...."

Does that mean, I have to do something in which I spend a culture, such as cultural influence action or buy a wonder? Or, does that just mean, I can pay a culture to do the stuff on the card AAA?

BOb


The bold. Also many action cards that have you pay 1 culture to play.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Francisco
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It means you pay the culture to do the AAA from the event.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TJ Truttmann
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
senorcoo wrote:
It means you pay the culture to do the AAA from the event.


Hi, can we please get a designer to weigh in on this? I looked up Carsten and it doesn't show he's on the design team in his profile.

Not to doubt him, but it seems like the language could go either way

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex P
France
La Plaine St-Denis
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
T33J wrote:

Hi, can we please get a designer to weigh in on this?


Not when the answer is already clear, you can't.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Bredon
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
T33J wrote:
senorcoo wrote:
It means you pay the culture to do the AAA from the event.


Hi, can we please get a designer to weigh in on this? I looked up Carsten and it doesn't show he's on the design team in his profile.

Not to doubt him, but it seems like the language could go either way

Thanks.


The designer has already clarified this in this thread:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/876499/great-people-events
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Howard Massey
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
T33J wrote:
senorcoo wrote:
It means you pay the culture to do the AAA from the event.


Hi, can we please get a designer to weigh in on this? I looked up Carsten and it doesn't show he's on the design team in his profile.

Not to doubt him, but it seems like the language could go either way

Thanks.


If you use the As A Action for something else, what are you going to do with the event card in your hand?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
kskato wrote:
T33J wrote:
senorcoo wrote:
It means you pay the culture to do the AAA from the event.


Hi, can we please get a designer to weigh in on this? I looked up Carsten and it doesn't show he's on the design team in his profile.

Not to doubt him, but it seems like the language could go either way

Thanks.


If you use the As A Action for something else, what are you going to do with the event card in your hand?


Not quite sure I understand you question, but if you don't use an action on a card that says AAA, then you cannot use it. If it is the great persons from the event deck it says on the cards that you leave them. So any player can take them on their turn (after someone does it is of course used and put with the other used events).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Challis
United Kingdom
Hungerford
West Berkshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I really don't understand how this isn't 100% clear.

You pay 1 culture, to get a whole new class of 1 shot action, which does what it says on the card.

It's a fundamental premise of the game, and is used all over the cards and the tech tree.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
TJ Truttmann
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
abredon wrote:
T33J wrote:
senorcoo wrote:
It means you pay the culture to do the AAA from the event.


Hi, can we please get a designer to weigh in on this? I looked up Carsten and it doesn't show he's on the design team in his profile.

Not to doubt him, but it seems like the language could go either way

Thanks.


The designer has already clarified this in this thread:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/876499/great-people-events


Sweet. Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.